Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Charlie Daniels Band: Live at Rockpalast (DVD)

We've featured reviews of Charlie Daniels Band product on Sea of Tranquility a few times before, and there's a reason why. Though Charlie and the boys don't fit into the prog or metal genres we specialize in here, this band in their heyday were a rousing Southern Rock band who could jam and rock with the best of them, and they are at their best here on this 1980 German concert for the Rockpalast television show. Hard driving Southern Rock, blues, jazz, and country are splattered throughout each of the 15 songs in this seat, which features many of the CDB's classic songs.

If you close your eyes, you can almost be fooled into thinking that the Allman Brothers Band or Lynyrd Skynyrd are playing on "Funky Junky" and "Trudy", as the swirling organ from Taz Gregorio and the dueling guitar licks from Daniels & Tom Crain take the band into jazzy, Southern Rock territory. Many always seem to pigeonhole Daniels as a fiddle player, and he's a damn good one, but the guy can also play a mean guitar, as seen on many of the songs here, including the more country tinged "Long Haired Country Boy" and "Uneasy Rider" as well as the harder rock pieces "In America" and "Legend of Wooley Swamp". The real mettle of this band however is on the jazzy, jammy numbers like "Reflections", "El Toreador" and the energetic country raveup "Orange Blossom Special". Of course, the huge hit "Devil Went Down to Georgia" is here as well.

Expertly filmed with crystal clear, colorful video, and stellar audio, this is a must have DVD for fans of the Southern Rock genre, as well as anyone into great guitar playing, which there is plenty of thanks to Charlie Daniels and Tom Crain.

Track Listing
1 Funky Junky 6:30
2 Trudy 4:46
3 Jitterburg 3:28
4 Legend of Wooley Swamp 4:19
5 Blindman 3:40
6 Reflections 6:18
7 El Toreador 3:38
8 No Potion For the Pain 4:56
9 In America 3:32
10 Long Haired Country Boy 3:46
11 Uneasy Rider 5:19
12 Cumberland Mountain No. 9 5:21
13 Devil Went Down To Georgia 3:40
14 The South's Gonna Do It Again 4:08
15 Orange Blossom Special 8:45

Added: May 10th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: MVD
Hits: 1792
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by