Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

God Forbid: Equilibrium

Chiming in with easily one of 2012's best and most brutal records is New Jersey's own, God Forbid. Their latest disc, Equilibrium (Victory Records), is their 6th full length release and their 1st effort on their new home, Victory Records. Equilibrium is nothing shortof awesome! Their continued use of muscular and tight guitar riffing with headbanging choruses laden with catchy hooks and an uber powerful rhythm section, dials in complete annihilation.

Equilibrium is nothing short of a pummeling statement of Metal for 2012. Brooding with enough testosterone for an entire city, God Forbid pick right up where they left off with their last studio release, 2009's amazing Earthblood. This 6th studio release is packedwith 13 blistering tracks that are simply relentless. One track after another,each song is a new chapter in brutality. Starting with CD opener, "Don't Tell Me What To Dream", the record kicks off with a devastating blow to the ears. Along with the nasty riffing of "A Few Good Men", the double bass bombastic fury of "Cornered" or the catchy heaviness of a tune like, "Scraping The Walls", with its 'get stuck in your head' chorus, this record doesn't disappoint in the slightest.

What we have here is highly venomous record that just doesn't give up its hold on you. Song after song, riff after monster riff, God Forbid are helping to define what the New Wave of American Metal is all about. Byron Davis'vocals are both powerful and fierce, while the stellar guitar work of Doc Coyleand & Matt Wicklund continue to blaze a Metal trail and the intricate and dynamic rhythm section of drummer Corey Pierce and bass player John Outcalt throw down the assault. Equilibrium is the record that God Forbid needed to make! With a great production and 13 amazing songs, this is a statement recordfor the Metal community in 2012 and an announcement that God Forbid will be a front runner to help wave the American Metal flag around the world. THIS is a KILLER record, kids. Check it out NOW!

Track Listing

  1. Don't Tell Me What To Dream
  2. My Rebirth
  3. A Few Good Men
  4. Scraping The Walls
  5. Conquer
  6. Equilibrium
  7. Overcome
  8. Cornered
  9. This Is Who I Am
  10. Move On
  11. Awakening
  12. Pages
  13. Where We Come From

Added: May 2nd 2012
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2652
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by