Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Thee Orakle: Smooth Comforts False

Finally, another Portuguese metal band! While Thee Orakle doesn't have the lyrical or theatrical allure of Moonspell, to whom they will probably be unfairly compared, they can still stand proud on their own for their lucid approach of incorporating little prog touches here and there amongst a strong rhythmic backbone. Having not heard any past work it's hard to say how much they've progressed but I find it hard to believe this wouldn't be a step forward whatever may have preceded this due to how smooth the record flows.

They also start off the record on all their strengths with "Faraway Embrace," which features the engaging vocals of female person when the growled vocals subside as well as keyboards that don't overpower the mix and also work on their own with their own flourishes. This can be seen throughout, but the clincher is that the rest of the tracks have these little sequences that are solely in those respective tracks, like the saxophone solo in "Psi-Drama" or the pizzicato-string breakdown in "Foretoken" or the all-out jazzy breakdown (drums could use more looseness and irregularity) of "Rescue of Mind" and so on and so forth. I find this character is what will bring lasting appeal in the end.

However, it will be perplexing if they don't play "Evil Dreams" live because that is easily the most intense track on here. Starting on a 70s throwback - mainly in the chords - with dissonant strings and harmonizing acoustics, the track weaves between Atheist-esque riffs and symphonic vigor, not to mention Eastern flavoring in female harmonies and acoustic harmonies throughout. "The Bride of the River Flowing" deserves some live action as well, another showcase of comfortability with their writing.

Aside from the annoyingly thin intro of "Psi-Drama" (seriously where did the bass go) and the non-conclusive feel of the final song, this record is a pleasant surprise. If this group could somehow implement their eclectic ingredients throughout more of the tracks than just one part (kind of like the acoustics in "Evil Dreams"), I can see them endlessly opening new windows for their writing from that point on, especially since they seem to really want to write longer songs. They have a lot of potential and would serve themselves well by shaking up their approach, but Smooth Comforts False can still be seen as a worthwhile record for anyone looking for a band with groove and diversity.

Track Listing
1. Faraway Embrace
2. Psi-Drama
3. Mysterious Hours
4. Foretoken
5. Evil Dreams
6. Winter Threat
7. The Bride of the River Flowing
8. Hopefulness
9. Rescue of Mind

Added: April 30th 2012
Reviewer: Danny Heater
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2189
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by