Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Luley: Today's Tomorrow

Best known for his stints way back when with AOR/westcoast band Tokyo and melodic rockers Craaft, Klaus Luley returns after an absence of nearly two decades with Today's Tomorrow. Going under the simple moniker Luley, Klaus has slipped back into the groove like it was the 80's all over again, with his lush vocals, classy guitar work and pomp-laden keyboards leading to songs that simply ooze melodic class. Sitting somewhere between the westcoast of Tokyo and the less poppy vibe of Craaft, Today's Tomorrow doesn't stray too far from what you'd expect an album crafted by Klaus Luley to be. Lush melodies and catchy choruses are bolstered by sterner guitar phrasing and layers of keys, making for an AOR lover's delight.

Backed by a pair of well worn and respected session musicians in the shape of drummer Chris Elbers (Gary John Barden) and bassist Matthias Rethmann (Silver/Michael Schenker), Luley is given the room to weave the guitars and keyboards into constantly competing, yet complimentary battles, where somehow both come out as winners. However it is his voice that elevates what could, in lesser hands, be pretty formulaic fare into vibrant and memorable songs. Yes, there's no doubting that even with a contemporary production sheen, much of, OK all of Today's Tomorrow harks back to a bygone day, but anyone interested by the thought of an album from Klaus Luley would be disappointed otherwise. "Don't Wanna See Your Face" and "Still Got A Long Way To Go" lead things in to tougher mood, with the tempo ratcheted up a bit. However it is with the slower, more heartfelt stuff that Klaus and the boys really hit home. "Can't Live Without You", which has a bit of Mike+The Mechanics about it, "Here In My Arms" and "Livin' In The Night" tug at the heart-strings, while still having enough oomph to make a lasting impression. The inclusion of a reworking of the Tokyo classic hit "Tokyo" comes as a pleasant surprise, with the urgent guitar and ever evolving keyboard line still having the ability to impress.

Two decades out of the spot-light would prove to be simply too long for some artists to recover from and while Klaus Luley has remained busy writing songs for a plethora of big name acts, it is reassuring to know that he can still deliver to this standard all these years down the line.

Track Listing
1. Can't Live Without You
2. Mountain Of Love
3. Slippin' Away
4. Livin' In The Night
5. Tokyo
6. Don't Wanna See Your Face
7. Higher
8. Here In My Arms
9. Still Got A Long Way To Go
10. Take Me Today
11. When The Night Comes Down

Added: April 28th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Metal Heaven Records
Hits: 1461
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by