Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Dimension Act: Manifestation of Progress

From Norway comes Dimension Act, and their ProgRock Records debut Manifestation of Progress is a fine progressive metal release that contains plenty of jaw dropping musical arrangements as well as memorable melodies. The band is comprised of Tom Vidar Salangli (Lead and backing vocals), Marius Nilsen (Electric and acoustic guitars, additional keyboards), Kristian Berg (Keyboards), Tommy Granli (Bass guitars), and Frank Nordeng Rĝe (Drums). Together they've put together an exciting album here that genre freaks won't want to miss.

Most of the songs on display are well thought out and put together. Take "Industrial Evilution" for example, a heavy song with some complex riffery, tasty keyboards, catchy melodies, and some powerful vocals from Salangli. This one flows real well, and the band did a great job of making it enticing to those who love instrumental interplay (some killer soloing here), but the vocal sections are quite memorable and will appeal to the power metal crowd. "Unchartered Waters" is very majestic, complete with commanding keyboard tones, soaring vocals, and layers of guitars, but the real kicker here is the near 32-minute, six part epic " Perspectives Chapter 1- Drawing the Lines of Mortal Existence". Plenty of stunning musical virtuosity on display throughout this one, including some long passages that will thrill both prog & fusion lovers alike, and look for some lovely guest female vocals from Live Foyn Friis. Despite its length, this one work quite nicely, and there are some really heavy and challenging sections that show just how much talent this band has not only on their instruments but in their ability to craft a successful song of this nature.

Though it's only their debut, Manifestation of Progress shows that Dimension Act have arrived, and the progressive metal scene had better take notice. Fans of Dream Theater, Vanden Plas, Pagan's Mind, and Circus Maximus will no doubt be all over this one!

Track Listing
01. Cosmic Chaos
02. Industrial Evilution
03. Uncharted Waters
04. Perspectives Chapter 1- Drawing the Lines of Mortal Existence
I – Pre-Spective
II – Transparent Reality
III – Illusion
IV – Counterparts
V – The Battle Within
VI – A Different Perspective

Added: April 22nd 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2077
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

İ 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content İ Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by