Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Unisonic: Unisonic

This is the self-titled debut studio album from the band featuring former Helloween vocalist Michael Kiske and guitarist Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray, ex-Helloween) alongside guitarist Mandy Meyer (Asia, Gotthard and Krokus), bassist Dennis Ward and drummer Kosta Zafiriou (both of Germany's Pink Cream 69.) It is fair to say that marks the first musical union between Kiske and Hansen in 23 years has created a fair degree of excitement on this side of the pond. Unisonic was recorded at ICP Studios in Brussels, Belgium. The offering features 11 tracks, plus a bonus live version of Helloween classic "I Want Out" only available on the domestic edition and features cover art by Martin Häusler (Meat Loaf, Gotthard, Helloween, Motörhead.) unusually the bonus track, the aforementioned "I Want Out" is available for review and is, as you may expect the best track on the album, however, Unisonic is a strong record if not a great one and it is most certainly wonderful to hear Kiske rocking out again after so long apparently denying his past.

"Strong but not great," is what I think should be on the sticker on the cover of Unisonic as there a number of very good songs (such as the title song) mixed in with weaker ones ("No One Ever Sees Me" is a bit of a snooze)and as must be expected with Dennis Ward on board it sounds great. Kiske sounds fabulous for a man of his advancing years and it is wonderful to hear him wrap his tonsils around sing-a-long choruses like "Souls Alive" or "Never Too Late". It would take a real stinker of an album to sink the six-string talents of Kai Hansen and Mandy Meyer and Unisonic isn't that album and I'm pleased to report that both axemen reign in their egos mostly and play the songs rather than each other.

It would be too much to ask for Unisonic to be the defining album of the groups' collective careers and it isn't but it is an album that is well worth checking out.

Track Listing:
  1. Unisonic
  2. Souls Alive
  3. Never Too Late
  4. I've Tried
  5. Star Rider
  6. Never Change Me
  7. Renegade
  8. My Sanctuary
  9. King for a Day
  10. We Rise
  11. No One Ever Sees Me
  12. I Want Out (live bonus track)

Added: April 18th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2306
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by