Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Richard Thompson Band, The: Live At Celtic Connections (DVD)

UK guitarist/singer/songwriter Richard Thompson, founder of the seminal folk rock band Fairport Convention, has had an incredibly productive career with over forty albums to his credit. His distinctive guitar playing and unique voice has put an indelible stamp on the music industry and even though he may not be a household name, his accomplishments these last forty plus years cannot be overstated. There is a reason why Rolling Stone voted him as the number 19th greatest guitar player. Watching this DVD confirms that assertion.

This concert was recorded at the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow, Scotland in 2011, a performance taken from the annual Celtic Connection festival. Joining Thompson (guitar, vocals) is a crack band of excellent musicians including Michael Jerome (drums), Taras Prodaniuk (bass), Pete Zorn (guitars, flute, sax, mandolin) and Joel Zifkin (violin, mandolin).

The first eleven tracks are taken from his album Dream Attic released in 2007. The concert begins with a bang as "The Money Shuffle" settles in with a nice up-tempo groove and a bluesy flavour. Before the next track Thompson shows his humour stating "we'll do a selection of our greatest hits, with a small h." The on stage banter with the audience continues throughout the concert with Thompson's dry wit continually coming to the forefront. The first set ends with the rocking "Sidney Wells" and two incredibly poignant ballads; "A Brother Slips Away" and "If Love Whispers Your Name" featuring stellar lead guitar from Thompson.

With the opening tune of the second set Thompson digs down deep in the vaults and pulls out "The Angels Took My Racehorse Away" from his first solo album Henry The Human Fly released in 1972. This is Celtic rock at its absolute finest. Other highlights include the ripping "Can't Win" where the entire band cooks up a storm and the jazzy "Al Bowlly's In Heaven" featuring outstanding solos by all five members.

As an added bonus we are treated with two selections from the 2011 Cambridge Folk Festival featuring just is voice and acoustic guitar. There is no doubting he is an accomplished acoustic player as well.

This is a great DVD from a very tight band and one of rock's finest guitar players. Celtic rock/folk has rarely sounded better.

Track Listing:
1. The Money Shuffle
2. Among The Gorse, Among The Grey
3. Haul Me Up
4. Burning Man
5. Here Comes Geordie
6. Demons In Her Dancing Shoes
7. Big Sun Falling In The River
8. Stumble On
9. Sidney Wells
10. A Brother Slips Away
11. If Love Whispers Your Name
12. The Angels Took My Racehorse Away
13. Can't Win
14. One Door Opens
15. Al Bowlly's In Heaven
16. I'll Never Give It Up
17. Wall Of Death
18. Tear Stained Letter
19. Take Care The Road You Choose
20. A Man In Need
Bonus Tracks
21. Uninhabited Man
22. Johnny's Far Away

Added: April 15th 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2128
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by