Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Everwood: Without Saving

You know how the saying goes - never judge a book by its cover. But let's be honest, making sure that your album has cracking artwork never hurt any band, so well done to Hungarian Prog-Metallers Everwood and ProgRock Records for making sure that the band's third album Without Saving is graced by a beautiful image that immediately makes you want to play the disc it houses. Better than that however is finding out the album behind the mixture of flowing modern medusa-like mechanical hands and a threateningly beautiful face that is worthy of such evocative imagery.

Now I'm not sure what the phrase Prog-Metal conjures up for you, but I'm best to tell you straight away that Everwood are no Dream Theater or Vanden Plas clones, and yes, they are all the better for it. Taking influences from the darker side of things, a little bit of Pain of Salvation is hinted at, especially in the oft crazed vocals, but Enchant, Star One, Porcupine Tree and even Kamelot are all in evidence as the twelve songs on Without Saving pass by. The result is something pleasantly melodic, pleasingly progressive and interestingly eclectic.

Making their Everwood debut are bassist Sandor Kallai, who acquits himself well and singer (and acoustic guitarist) Matyas Haraszti, whose varied vocal attack proves to me a major plus for the band. The music itself is also varied, veering from all out guitar assaults, to more restrained and melodic constructions. "Rain" chugs along on a stomping riff, blurting out time changes and splashes of colourful keyboard work, while the hook laden melody line in "Make Me Famous" pulls a manic vocal from Haraszti. All through the album Attila Tanczer sets an atmospheric backdrop through clever keyboard washes and motifs, while guitarist Ferenc Farkas turns up the intensity through his splendid display of six-string skills. However what really makes Without Saving a more interesting proposition is the sprinkling of less obvious songs throughout the classy Melodic Progressive Metal. "Free" slows things right down and with a female singer wouldn't have been out of place on the most recent Within Temptation opus, while "Insecure" sits on an ever changing drum pattern from Tamas Szabo to create a Funky, Poppy, string laden highlight.

At every twist and turn Everwood offer up new ideas and approaches to ensure your attention never wanders. However to do it all in such a cohesive manner makes a strong collection of songs into an excellent album.

Track Listing
1. Rain
2. Never Trust A Snake
3. Desert Sun
4. Free
5. Experience This
6. Can't Find
7. Make Me Famous
8. Walls
9. Pieces
10. My Own Vision
11. Insecure
12. Quit Without Saving

Added: April 14th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: The Everwood Official Web-Site
Hits: 2492
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by