Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

NOLoveLost: NOLoveLost

Whilst NOLoveLost themselves list a long line of disparate influences, the three names Dokken, Deep Purple and Queensryche give more than a strong indication of what they have created with their self titled debut. The band's approach is more than slightly reminiscent of these acts and in terms of cohesion, the path of taking one of these influences and basing a song round them, before moving onto the next, does knock the album's flow. However that's not to say that this album is not of a high standard, or that there isn't enough flash and sheen dazzling under the lights to grab your attention.

As the influences would suggest, NLL rely on strident riffs and sumptuous keyboards to make their mark, something which they have in abundance. The most common link is Dokken, with vocalist Scott Board having the similar nasal like whine that Don does (as well as the limited range), while guitarist Jason Staton tortures riffs and solos from his fretboard with a similar tone to George Lynch. "Skin & Bone" is the best evidence of this style, with the excellent guitar work laying the foundations for a crackling shock of Rock. Album opener "(Eternal) Miles Apart" sits more firmly in the Deep Purple camp, all parping Hammond, pompous in nature, yet melodic of heart. It is a cracking track, although not the most obvious introduction to what is for the most a far heavier album than this song suggests. Add to that one of the less convincing vocals on show and the likes of more Dokken-esque "Another Bad Goodbye" would have set the NOLoveLost stall out in a stronger fashion.

From there "Grounded" adds a little of the poise of Mindcrime era Queensryche, while the stripped back acoustic approach of "Closer To Home" brings a refinement to the brasher side of things, possibly being the most captivating song included. As with many debut efforts however there are one or two, or maybe even three or four passengers amongst the more impressive moments and on the whole there is a lack of variation from song to song. NLL do add a little more melody here, a little more grit there, but there's no denying that by the end of the thirteen tracks, the interest can wane somewhat.

Melodic Hard Rock has certainly seen a resurgence in recent times and while that may mean an expanding audience for the style of music NOLoveLost play, it also means that there's plenty of strong competition as well. Whether NOLoveLost can last the pace will depend on how much they can refine and individualise their sound for album number two.

Track Listing
01. (Eternal) Miles Apart
02. Another Bad Goodbye
03. Sign Of The Times
04. Back On The Streets
05. ''L.I.E.'' In Ecstacy
06. Grounded
07. Skin And Bone
08. Break
09. Desiree'
10. Closer To Home
11. Little Things
12. Catch Me Carrie
13. Friend Of Pain

Added: April 14th 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: NOLoveLost MySpace
Hits: 1538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by