Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bonamassa, Joe: Live from the Beacon Theatre (DVD)

Joe Bonamassa…many would argue, is the world's best blues guitarist and singer of his generation. So he needs little introduction. This guy is busy too. He's already working on the follow – up to his latest album, "Dust Bowl", as well as busy working with his band mates in Black Country Communion of their third album. Bonamassa did some extensive touring last year and one of his stops was the historic Beacon Theatre in New York. The Beacon has been the home of many of rock's legendary performances. Bonamassa also lived a mere seven blocks from the Beacon, about ten years ago, so as the movie says…it was a natural…match made…

Joining Bonamassa on stage is his band, Tal Bergman, on drums, which easily brings back memories of the greatness that was John Bonham. Solid and powerful bass is provided throughout this masterpiece by Carmine Rojas. Rick Melick, from "Down Under", provides amazing 1969 Hammond and other keys. Bonamassa put together an excellent band and they sound as though they have been playing together for years.

Bonamassa opens with a busking scene filmed in black and white, taking him back to where it all began. Then it's on to the show. Nothing like the sound of a train to open a show. Steve Hackett did it last year with his "Live Rails", and Bonamassa rocks the walls of this legendary theatre with his own original, "Train Kept a Rollin'" opener "Slow Train". Already one of my favorite highlights of the DVD.

There are no let downs during this amazing show. You will not want a break, and you are given more than your money's worth with over 20 tracks played with emotion, feeling and precision. You will wish you had been there for this event. Especially when rock legend Paul Rodgers joins Bonamassa on stage for Fire and Water and Walk in My Shadow. Any time Rodgers takes the stage you know magic will occur.

John Hiatt's two tracks will make you check out his back catalog, if like me, you weren't a big fan before now. I was fortunate enough to review Bonamassa's project with Beth Hart, but to see them together on stage and watch Hart deliver some of the best husky vocals, along with her impressive cockiness, was a show in itself, not to be missed.

The title track of Bonamassa's last album "Dust Bowl" is one of my favorite original tracks of his, and he showcases the song well during this set. With a name like "When the Fire Hits the Sea", you know that is gonna be a good song and show…and so it is. Bonamassa brings out the Double – Necker to play a cover of Mose Allison's "Young Man Blues" and it is full of firepower. He also does an amazing emotional and powerful rendition of Warren Hayes' "If Heartaches Were Nickels". The guitar work on this track and much of this DVD will bring back the wonderful memories of watching Stevie Ray Vaughan in his heyday. But Joe makes it all his own. Bonamassa and Will Jennings' song, "Woke Up Dreaming" will seal the deal. The guitar work will leave you wanting to see the next tour that passes through or near your town. People catch this new legend live, as soon as you can.

Kevin Shirley brings an amazing professionalism to everything he does, but I think Bonamassa and BCC are his favorite music franchises. The filming, which brings you closer than front row, and the ability to see the sweat of the artists at work, the sound, technical aspects of the menu and program selection as well as the engineering quality is unmatched. The over 15 page booklet inside is full of great pictures from the theater and the show, as well as a great story to tell from Bonamassa and the band. Together Bonamassa and Shirley are providing some of the best in quality coming from the West Coast right now.

Track Listing:

Disc One:

1. 72nd St. Subway Blues (Intro)
2. Slow Train
3. Cradle Rock
4. When the Fire Hits the Sea
5. Midnight Blues
6. Dust Bowl
7. The River
8. I'll Take Care Of You (w/ Beth Hart)
9. Sinner's Prayer (w/ Beth Hart)
10. You Better Watch Yourself
11. Steal Your Heart Away
12. Bird On A Wire
13. Down Around My Place (w/ John Hiatt)
14. I Know A Place (w/ John Hiatt)
15. Blue And Evil
16. Fire And Water (w/ Paul Rodgers)
17. Walk In My Shadow (w/ Paul Rodgers)
18. Mountain Time
19. Young Man Blues

Bonus Tracks:

20. If Heartaches Were Nickels
21. Woke Up Dreaming
22. A Friends Stops By – David Crosby stops by for a music "lesson".
23. A Busker's Tale
24. Photo gallery

Added: April 7th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Joe
Hits: 1644
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by