Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mystic Prophecy: Ravenlord

The German power metal act Mystic Prophecy have come a long way since their successful early days with ace guitarist Gus G., who has since moved on to double duty with Firewind and Ozzy Osbourne. Vocalist Roberto Dimitri Liapakis is now the sole original & constant member since the bands debut back in 2000, and his commanding high pitched delivery, gruff mid range, and occasional death metal growl still sounds as powerful as ever. The band, which also features guitarists Markus Pohl & Constantine, bassist Connie Andreszka, and drummer Claudio Sisto, have always stayed far away from the 'upbeat & happy style' of power metal that many European bands seem to employ, instead going for a darker, more thrash oriented attack that may remind of Nevermore, Iced Earth, and Vicious Rumors.

Tunes like "Damned Tonight", "Die Now", and "Eyes of the Devil" are slightly catchy, yet crushingly heavy, featuring plenty of churning riffs and jackhammer rhythms that wouldn't sound out of place on a Bay Area Thrash release or any melodic death metal album from Gothenburg. "Hollow" is just a soaring slice of power metal, with some of the most addicting riffs on the album and a fantastic vocal from Liapakis, while "Wings of Destiny" slows things down to a slightly doomy classic metal vibe, sure to inspire plenty of headbanging. The decision to cover Ozzy's "Miracle Man", considering that original Mystic Prophecy guitarist Gus G. has replaced Zakk Wylde in Ozzy's band, the guy who actually recorded on that song, is strange, but for the most part this version works, with Constantine laying down some fiery wah-wah licks and screaming pinch harmonic solos.

Ravenlord is another winner from Mystic Prophecy, as the band continues to deliver one solid slab of dark power metal after another. At just under 40 minutes long, the CD doesn't overstay its welcome, just does what it intends to do from the outset, which is give you ten tracks of potent heavy metal at its finest.

Track Listing
1. Ravenlord
2. Die Now
3. Eyes Of The Devil
4. Cross Of Lies
5. Hollow
6. Wings Of Destiny
7. Endless Fire
8. Damned Tonight
9. Reckoning Day
10. Miracle Man (Ozzy Osbourne cover)

Added: April 4th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2105
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by