Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Gayle, Philip: Babanco Total

Although this is a music review site, not everything that slips through the cracks can be considered music. This is definitely the case with Babanco Total, the new CD by avant-garde musician Philip Gayle.

This has got to be the weirdest music (I use the word music very loosely) I have ever heard and I have listened to some pretty weird stuff. Some of it has been good, even great but sadly this is not. Imagine what it would sound like if you were to throw up in a microphone or what a Gremlin would sound like in heat (remember that movie)? If you're curious you need to give this disc a spin.

All the sounds heard are presumably vocalizations created by Gayle and some of them are pretty disturbing. There is not much more that needs to be said. Although I give him credit for being somewhat creative I have to say this was the most painful a listen I have ever endured. The fact it is over sixty minutes long didn't help either. There is nothing I can recommend about this CD, except for the cool artwork by John Cramer. Apparently his next release will focus on actual instruments. One can only hope.

Track Listing:
1. sleep rain (3:45)
2. say hello to my little cowpaddy (3:58)
3. esa peko peko pah (3:59)
4. feral basil pesto (6:18)
5. stone shoes (4:09)
6. merkin identity crisis (4:58)
7. agnes unknown (3:54)
8. falling off brain like i told myselves (3:19)
9. hadaka denkyu very much (4:36)
10. howdy elephant tree (4:22)
11. The Queensboro Bridge Song (Feelin Slumpy) (6:58)
12. bi-curious marsupials underneath the panels for the walls of purgatory (2:07)
13. the indexicality of my middle finger (3:04)
14. naked brunch (3:31)
15. pajama turtles (5:45)

Added: April 1st 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2078
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by