Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mieulle, Louis De: Defense Mechanisms

French musician Louis De Mieulle was born and raised in Paris and at an early age started playing the cello. Before moving to the United States he graduated from National Conservatory of Music and The American School of Modern Music. Once in the US he obtained a degree from the Berklee College of Music in Boston. He is now based out of New York City. Those are impressive credentials and it shows on his first solo album Defense Mechanisms.

The band consists of Mieulle (bass, keyboards), Matt Garstka (drums) and Casimir Liberski (piano, keyboards). Mieulle's brand of jazz takes the listener into other territories such as fusion and the avant-garde, which makes for an absorbing and interesting listen. Mieulle's bass work is a highlight throughout and the music is quite spacious, allowing all the instruments to shine in a clear and concise way.

Songs like "Scapegoat 1" and "Scapegoat 2" show off Mieulle's deep bass grooves and Garstka's free flowing polyrhythmic structures on the drums. Both tunes settle into a cool sound which I found to be strangely hypnotic and trance-like. The second tune is a bit slower offering a more minimalistic approach. The strangely titled "Electric Cell Mutations" is more chaotic with fuzzier bass tones and dreamy cascades of piano lines with elements of fusion creeping into the mix.

One of the more interesting tracks is the trippy "Soundfrieze". Cool effects and spacey textures give this one a more experimental feel while staying within the confines of jazz. "The Taste of Filth" is the album's longest song showcasing outstanding piano, bass and drums. Garstka's complicated polyrhythms are a definite highlight and the song does a fine job blending slight harmonic discord with some outstanding melodies.

Defense Mechanisms is a fine debut which I whole heartedly recommend for jazz listeners searching for something a little different.

Track Listing:
1. Scapegoat 1 (7:32)
2. Scapegoat 2 (4:32)
3. Electric Cell Mutations (7:42)
4. Skuld (6:42)
5. Soundfrieze (7:42)
6. The Ladybug and the Cockchafer (5:55)
7. The Taste of Filth (11:32)
8. Portrait de Famille (9:09)
9. Solitude (5:28)

Added: April 1st 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2711
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by