Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Funin: Unsound

Funin are an alternative/experimental band hailing from Bergen, Norway. The band combines elements of folk, jazz, electronica and eclectic rock making for one of the more unusual and interesting listens I have heard in recent months.

They formed in 2005 as a duo which gradually grew to seven members and originally released their debut Unsound in 2010. The CD has recently been launched again with the hope of gaining more exposure. While this CD certainly won't be for everyone it just might deserve your attention if you keep an open mind and appreciate the more eclectic side of the musical spectrum. This is not easy music to describe but imagine a band with vocals similar to Bjork or Kate Bush combining organic components like violin, cello and percussion with subtle electronic elements .

The title track starts things off with a wild beginning and slowly building drums. A steady rhythm of noise unfolds with clean guitar notes offering hints of dissonance. When the Bjork-like female vocals begin, a jazzy almost sultry style develops. It's a laid back tune with a unique blending of discord and melody. "Everything" has a slight electronica vibe married with an organic sound. Lovely background vocals and rich cello sounds give an overall feel of forlorn. In "Wonderland" an exotic Eastern melody is coupled with a slow languid beat with vocals hinting of Kate Bush. This is a tale of two worlds as a sultry jazz style combines nicely with a more modern alternative rock approach with crunchier rhythms and intense drum work.

The band saves the best for last with the excellent "Skywalkers". It's a mellow spacious track with a cool alternative/folk sound. Everything works; rich sounding strings, distant background vocals, gentle acoustic strums and an overall organic arrangement with a superb melody to boot.

Funin shows tremendous potential with Unsound. These eclectic musicians have a bright future and I for one look forward to hearing more from them in the years to come.

Track Listing:
1. Unsound
2. Everything
3. Wonderland
4. Tornado
5. Last Day
6. Inch of Me
7. Indestructible
8. Rocking Chair
9. Machine
10. Skywalkers

Added: April 1st 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's MySpace Page
Hits: 1861
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by