Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

3 Inches Of Blood: Long Live Heavy Metal

Fuck all the pretenders, wannabe's, old has-beens dressed in homoerotic leather, bare-chested, fist crossing, louder than all pre-madonna's.

3 Inches Of Blood are the real deal, hell they've even put 'Heavy Metal' in the title of their fucking album! You don't get more metal than that. From the bollock ripping opening moments of Cam Pipes screams on 'Metal Woman' this simply oozes molten metal from every denim soaked pore. This is a monster of an album, and even has its own monster bass player to boot with the newly appointed Byron Stroud offering his Yeti Death Stare to the 3 Inch credentials. They only let up for the delicate instrumental 'Chief and The Blade' which is still heavy in its own right, then its back to the full force metal assault. With all the confidence in the world, 3 Inches Of Blood have stuck to their guns and powered through with an album that delivers what the title suggests. Still not afraid to throw in a Hammond organ/guitar duel on 'Look Out', this is by far one of the best releases this year. Standout track 'Men Of Fortune' is the heavy metal equivalent of 'Comfortably Numb', a seven minute tour de force that will see swords unsheathed and thrust skywards in salute.

If you want massive riffs, screaming vocals, a bowel moving rhythm section with solo's attacking you from all angles then Long Live Heavy Metal should be on top of your purchase list. For too long bands have promised 'retro' sounding albums and not delivered, 3 Inches Of Blood, with staying true to their beliefs have moved forward without compromise and certainly progressed with the quality of their output.

Long Live Heavy Metal was a bold statement by a band that lives, breathes, and shits metal…This album truly defines what being a heavy metal fan is all about.

Track Listing
1. Metal Woman
2. My Sword Will Not Sleep
3. Leather Lord
4. Chief And The Blade
5. Dark Messenger
6. Look Out
7. 4000 Torches
8. Leave It On The Ice
9. Die For Gold (Upon The Boiling Sea IV)
10. Storming Juno
11. Men Of Fortune
12. One For The Ditch

Added: March 29th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Davies
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2419
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by