Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Darkane: Layers of Lies (remastered)

Darkane, another Swedish Steel band that shreds! The people at Metal Mind Productions has re-issued their classic Metal release from 2005, Layers of Lies in a digipak format, on a Gold disc in a limited run of only 2000. If you are not familiar with Darkane, then Layers of Liesis a great place to start. With their unique blend of Thrash, Progressive, Industrial and Melodic Death Metal, Darkane are another Swedish export that should be on your radar.

Layers of Lies is 12 tracks of pure awesomeness filled with heaviness, proggy groove and hooky choruses. Their use of razor sharp riffing backed up with super tight technical pounding makes this effort a must hear. You get Thrash type speed, accompanied with melodic interludes around musical explorations that are just killer. Fans of Strapping Young Lad, In Flames and Soilwork should find Darkane right in their wheelhouse.

Layers of Lies opens with the soundtrack of "Amnesia of the Wildoerian Apocalypse" that segues into the blistering track of "Secondary Effects". Beware, high octane Swedish Metal riffing is about to smack you in the face! THIS is how you start off a record! Fast, hard and with some melody, too! Next up is the song, "Organic Canvas", where the orchestration and vocals will begin to remind you a bit of Devin Townsend of Strapping Young Lad. Now this is a good thing, because Andreas Sydow's vocals are a huge part of this record and the drumming of Peter Wildoer is another. Peter Wildoer is a killer drummer and is on par with some of the more household names in modern Metal, for sure. Wildoer and bass player, Jorgen Löfbergare, are mega tight and slammed up front in the great production of Layers of Lies, that just makes this offering even heavier. At times Darkane throw in some Meshuggah type odd metered riffing and guitarists Christofer Malmström and Klas Ideberg are up to the challenge and deliver in spades. This is a great F@#kin' record!

Plain and simple, this is a disc that should NOT be passed over. From a song like the title track, "Layers of Lies", with its headbanging groove and 'get stuck in your head chorus', to the manically cool "Decadent Messiah" and my favorite track, the killer "The Creation Insane". Darkane hit a home run back in 2005, but did anyone know? Well,this re-issue gives us all the chance to right that wrong and discover a classic Swedish Metal record. Check out this record, I promise that you won't be disappointed!

Track Listing

  1. Amnesia Of The Wildoerian
  2. Secondary Effects
  3. Organic Canvas
  4. Fading Dimensions
  5. Layers Of Lies
  6. Godforsaken Universe
  7. Master Klas
  8. Vision Of Degradation
  9. Contaminated
  10. Maelstrom Crisis
  11. Decadent Messiah
  12. The Creation Insane

Added: March 28th 2012
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2321
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by