Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Searcy, Kiwi, Karen: For the Fauna

Searcy is "a vocalist, storyteller, songwriter, keyboardist and conga player living in Portland, Oregon". "She attended the Catlin Gabel School, Oberlin College, and Marylhurst University where she earned an interdisciplinary degree in music and writing. She has performed and/or recorded with Craig Carothers, Yvad, Little Greggory and the Intolerables, The Oblivion Seekers, Dub Squad, The Venerable Showers of Beauty, and others" (, 2012).

Searcy took a break from singing, "songs about romance, politics and booty-shaking", and decided instead to take "a self-imposed break from band life and a fresh focus on dearly missed and sometimes new life-affirming pursuits, such as gardening, visual arts, writing and, for a brief but wonderful bit, Javanese gamelan". The time off was good for her. She was so inspired by all that she was missing in her daily world that she began to write songs about her environment.

"A chicken's tale soon followed, and soon "For the Fauna" began to take shape. Throughout the production of this project there were chance encounters with numerous animals. Some lurked, some fled, and others literally threw themselves into Kiwi's path as if to say, "Write about me! Tell my story! And I accept that you'll take liberties with it." (, 2012).

Performing on the album with Searcy: Israel Annoh, on keyboards and percussion; R. Curtis Bosworth on drums and congas; Skip Elliott Bowman, on guitars; Newel Briggs, on bass; Cory Burden, on drums, amongst a list of others.

This is an interesting album, full of everything from jazz, rock, pop, to at times show style tunes. It is a very interesting way to interpret the natural world around you. Searcy sets her surrounding environment to music so well it makes you want to join in yourself and pen a few verses of your own, from your own perspective.

Every track is full of creative ideas and at times comical lyrical expressions of the world around us.

Track Listing:

1. Looking for Me
2. Blue Raccoon
3. Why Not Me?
4. Slow
5. Into the Sky
6. Roadside Eulogy
7. I'm a Miracle
8. Pinky Lullabye
9. Stinky and Smelly
10. Anthem

Added: March 25th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1853
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by