Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Minutian: Repercussions

Gradually evolving from a three piece to a quintet, the Finnish progressive-rock/metal band Minutian released its seven-song debut album, Repercussions in 2011. This disc won't set the scene on fire, but it does deserve the attention of listeners looking for potential in new artists.

With an often laid-back musical vibe that recalls the subtler moments of, say, Enchant, Minutian writes songs about inner conflict and social isolation dark themes that manifest themselves via some of the album's heavier moments, when echoes of Evergrey and even Tool can be heard. But with only seven tracks, Repercussions begins to repeat itself over the course of 44 minutes. This band will no doubt benefit from more fully formed musical ideas next time around.

Worth noting: On Feb. 19, guitarist Jaako Jernberg passed away from injuries sustained in an accident. The band was working on new material with Jernberg, though, and has pledged on the Minutian website to "finish what we started." The SoT family extends its condolences to the remaining members of Minutian.

Track Listing:
1) Home
2) In Circles
3) Cold & Tight
4) Give In
5) Undone
6) Isolation
7) Three by Five

Added: March 23rd 2012
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Minutian Website
Hits: 2215
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by