Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Adrenaline Mob: Omerta

After releasing their debut EP past year, the metal supergroup known as Adrenaline Mob, featuring Mike Portnoy, Russell Allen, and Mike Orlando, have now cranked out their first full length CD, titled Omerta. Containing all four original tracks from the EP, plus six new songs and a cover of Duran Duran's "Come Undone", Omerta is a heavy hitting modern metal album that has very little in common with Symphony X or Dream Theater.

Heavy is the key word throughout Omerta, as Adrenaline Mob put forth a hard rock/metal style that has a lot in common with acts like Black Label Society, Fozzy, or Disturbed. "Undaunted" and "Psychosane" bust out of the gate with thick & crunchy riffs from Orlando (and tons of pinch harmonics), kick ass angry vocals from Allen, and Portnoy's gymnastic drum work. "Believe Me" is a churning modern metal belter with great hooks, and "Indifferent" is a crushingly heavy number with memorable vocal melodies from Allen. The band really does manage to mix in catchy melodies amidst the heavy arrangements. "All On the Line" is a gritty ballad featuring Allen's soaring vocals, and their cover of Duran Duran's "Come Undone" is actually very well done, and also sees Halestorm's Lzzy Hale singing alongside Russell for a great effect. "Hit the Wall" and "Feelin' Me" might be the heaviest cuts on the album, each with snarling Allen vocals and plenty of brutal riffage from Orlando. Though "Down To The Floor" approaches nu-metal territory, it's so damn heavy and catchy it's hard not to fall in love with it immediately. Portnoy is fabulous throughout, never overplaying, but on "Freight Train" his complex drum fills really drive the arrangements, and Orlando lets loose with some wild solos.

Again, Omerta is the farthest thing from progressive metal, but that's ok as it's one hell of an enjoyable modern metal record. What the future holds for them remains to be seen, with Allen's main band Symphony X keeping busy and Portnoy's many musical projects, but considering Adrenaline Mob are signed to EMI/Elm City Music, I'm sure we will be hearing and seeing a lot from them in the near future.

Track Listing
1. Undaunted
2. Psychosane
3. Indifferent
4. All On The Line
5. Hit The Wall
6. Feelin' Me
7. Come Undone
8. Believe Me
9. Down To The Floor
10. Angel Sky
11. Freight Train

Added: March 18th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1894
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by