Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Epica: Requiem For the Indifferent

Nightwish may get most of the hoopla and attention, and it's well deserved, but it's Epica who really have created the more intriguing music over the last 5-8 years. Requiem For the Indifferent is the latest in a strong line of releases from the Dutch band, as they once again take their brand of symphonic progressive metal to new levels.

As always, the main selling points of Epica are lead vocalist Simone Simons and guitarist/vocalist Mark Jansen. Simone possesses one of the most gorgeous voices in all of metal, and Jansen is a stellar growler, so the two of them together always seem to create magic. Toss in some heavy progressive metal songs, loads of orchestral keyboards, just the right amount of extreme metal, and some ballads, and you have a winning combination. The heavier, more bombastic tracks like "Monopoly On Truth", "Internal Warfare", and "Storm the Sorrow", each containing plenty of soaring Simone, symphonic passages, complex arrangements, and Jansen growls, work well alongside the magnificent ballad "Delirium", offering a wonderful contrast for the listener. The epic title track, with its Middle Eastern themes, crushing riffs, and symphonic passages will thrill prog-metal lovers, and the lush "Deep Water Horizon", complete with stunning vocals from Simone and alluring choirs, is a can't miss. "Stay the Course" is almost pure death metal, and reminds of Jansen's side project MaYan, while the near 10 minute "Serenade Of Self-Destruction" is a symphonic metal tour-de-force that surprisingly sees Simone's vocals absent (the wrong version of the song was added to the CD and not caught till the first pressings were shipped).

Requiem For the Indifferent is another winner from Epica, and like their previous few releases will take a few listens to really begin to uncover all its riches. This is adventurous metal of the highest order, and proof that Epica still haven't run out of ideas and continue to create wildly exciting music.

Track Listing
1. Karma
2. Monopoly On Truth
3. Storm The Sorrow
4. Delirium
5. Internal Warfare
6. Requiem For The Indifferent
7. Anima
8. Guilty Demeanor
9. Deep Water Horizon
10. Stay The Course
11. Deter The Tyrant
12. Avalanche
13. Serenade Of Self-Destruction
14. Twin Flames

Added: March 18th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1976
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Epica: Requiem For the Indifferent
Posted by Scud on 2012-03-23 18:10:58
My Score:

Good album that will probably get better as it's a grower but I can't see it surpassing their previous efforts. Amazing how the main vocals were missed off "Serendae Of Self Destruction" though you would think something that important would have been picked up on.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by