Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Diversion Voice: Underwater

Diversion Voice is a Russian band that has created over 54 minutes of innovative electronic, instrumental music with their new album Underwater. The band is made up of Matvey Ushakov, on guitar; Ilya Bolkisev, on sax and electronics; Ivan Dorokhov, on bass; Alexey Kryuchkov, on drums; and Dmitry Krasov, on guitar and percussion.

This band thoroughly understands the importance of modern imagery, including a pair of 3D glasses with the CD release. In addition, they utilize 3D images and QR Barcodes throughout the album cover and CD booklet, to provide their listeners and fans with a link to emersion into the complete Diversion Voice experience. Not to be outdone by their "mobile" art, their band website includes similar 3D images.

With all that visual stimulation you might wonder if they can they match it with an equal auditory response? Well, the definitive answer is…of course.

The tracks on this album are excellent, innovative and well styled electronic symphonies of sound that will stimulate your ears while you ponder the feeling that the band is standing right in front of you watching from the inside cover photo, (experienced with the included 3D glasses), as you appreciate the music held within. Yeh, well, that was creepy. But really, it is as if they wanted to be there when you first started listening to the album to gauge your response and appreciation.

Every track on the album is a keeper, but the opener, Source, your first introduction to their sound, does a fantastic job of bringing wonderful, expansive colors of sounds to the ear before the guitar and drums kick in.

If I had to choose a band to compare them to, it would have to be, maybe a younger version of FromUZ, only with more jazz influences than prog. You can also find some similarities with Rush's heavier bass and guitar driven sound at times.

This is excellent work. Add them to my watch list. Looking forward to maybe lyrics and the addition of a female vocalist on their next creation, to help further differentiate this band.

They are off to a nice start.

Track Listing:

1. Source (intro)
2. Red River
3. Feeling of Snow
4. Aqua
5. Rain
6. Underwater
7. Black Milk
8. Stream

Added: March 17th 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 3053
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by