Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lord Of Mushrooms: Perspectives

Characterised by warm, smooth arrangements and mood enhancing keyboard parts Perspectives, album number three from Lord of Mushrooms, is a cohesive and sophisticated return from the cosmopolitan prog mettallers who number two Frenchman, two Italians and a Brazilian. Lord of Mushrooms have a long history, being founded by guitarist Laurent James and bassist Julien Negro in the late 90s, Perspectives being the somewhat belated follow-up to their self-titled album from 2002 and 7 Deadly Songs from 2005. This long gap between releases is reflected in that there have been changes in the ranks with the introduction of three new members, the most notable being that the band is now fronted by Gus Monsanto (ex Adagio). Effectively this is a very different proposition from the line-up that recorded the first two albums but with such an unusual and memorable name you can't really blame them for sticking with the moniker.

Perspectives follows the well worn concept format with the protagonist being followed on a journey of discovery and this is reflected in the suitably abstract cover art. Despite the narrative concept Lord of Mushrooms manage to avoid the obvious pitfalls and the music is focused on giving each song its own individuality with enough catchy hooks and melodies to provide broad appeal. There is good evidence of technical virtuosity, most notably in the creative flair of the riff heavy "Warm in the Wilderness" and "Raindrops on my Wings", eight minutes of varying themes with Laurent's guitars dovetailing nicely with the keyboard washes of Luca Mariotti. Monsanto's vocals are consistent throughout and this marks a welcome return from a band that will find many admirers within the prog community.

Track Listing
1. Imago
2. Warmth In The Wilderness
3. Grace (Dedicated To…)
4. Circles On The Water
5. The Missing Link
6. Red Queen's Race
7. Light And Thunder
8. Raindrops On My Wings
9. Nyx's Robe
10. Awaken
11. Falling (Bonus Track)

Added: March 16th 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2822
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by