Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pretty Maids: It Comes Alive

Our review of Pretty Maids 2010 CD Pandemonium noted that, "you know what you are going to get with Pretty Maids. The Danish hard rock/metal outfit have been around for an awful long time now, and they have never strayed too far from the formula that has kept them going all this time." That was true then and it remains true today. There's no hip-hop or scratching on It Comes Alive, just lots of very fine melodic rock with songs spanning the band's lengthy career.

Recorded live in Switzerland, It Comes Alive serves as an excellent introduction to the veteran Danish act. Recently there's been a real surge of interest in Danish culture thanks to BBC4 screening The Killing and Borgen. Other broadcasters have followed suit so surely now is the time for some Scandinavian rock to crossover into the mainstream? Let's be honest, there is about as much chance of that happening as myself being elected Pope. Mainstream media here in the UK is dominated by either a bunch of total no talents masquerading as stars (did you see the BRITS the other week?) or fey pale young things championed by the Guardianistas or 6music.

The last time I stood toe-to-toe with the Pretty Maids was with the Wake Up to the Real World album which I enjoyed but I have lost track of them since so It Comes Alive has come as a pleasant gift to me containing lots of great songs well-executed in a live setting before an enthusiastic crowd (which may or may not have been there, I think you know what I mean.)

It Comes Alive may be a stopgap release in the Pretty Maids' career but it is well worth investigating especially if you want a primer of one of Denmark's finest bands. The package also comes as with a DVD which was not available for review.

  1. Pandemonium
  2. I.N.V.U
  3. Hell on High Heels
  4. Wake Up to the Real World
  5. Destination Paradise
  6. Another Shot of Your Love
  7. Scream; Walk Away
  8. It comes at Night
  9. Queen of Dreams
  10. Savage Heart
  11. Clay


  1. Yellow Rain
  2. Rock the House
  3. Back to Back
  4. Rodeo
  5. Lovegames
  6. Future world
  7. Little Drops of Heaven
  8. Please Don't Leave Me
  9. Red Hot and Heavy

Added: March 15th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2120
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by