Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ivory Gates: The Devil's Dance

Progressive metal band Ivory Gates return after a long absence with their third album The Devil's Dance. Much has happened since 2005 when they released Status Quo does the band have what it takes to make a splash in 2012? Yes and no would be my answer.

On the one hand, The Devil's Dance is suitably heavy and pounding as well as being expertly executed especially in the monumental "Suite Memory" which clocks in at over 22 minutes long. However, this song encapsulates everything which is troubling about the album namely that despite several listens I know that I enjoyed it but can't remember it five minutes later!

The obvious touchstone here is Fates Warning but perhaps Fates Warning not at their very best.

Track Listing:
1. Beyond the Black
2. Devil's Dance
3. Endless Nightmare
4. Serpent's Kiss
5. Under the Sky of Illusions
6. Imaginary World
7. Suite Memory

Added: March 15th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2422
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by