Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Black Sunday Dream: Light Of The Night

Black Sunday Dream is a hard rock/metal band based out of San Francisco and I believe Light Of The Night is the band's first album although all members are veteran musicians who have played in the Bay area scene for many years. In the band are Dennis Galway (drums), Brian George (guitars, synth), Terrance Allen (bass) and Donald Hillier (lead vocals).

Light Of The Night is pure hard rock and metal with the '70s and '80s coursing through its arteries. This album is built upon George's bluesy guitar riffs as they are plentiful throughout and provide many of the highlights. The vocals of Hillier are also worth a special mention. His voice is a combination of Bruce Dickinson, Steven Tyler and a toned down Axel Rose and helps give this music that heavy metal flair. Although the album is fairly heavy many of the songs have a slower mid-tempo groove and this is where the album's strength lies. It's not all full speed ahead, balls to the wall power riffage, there is lots of atmosphere here. A case in point is the nine minute plus "Black Sunday". Sure it might be a little long for its own good but the tremendous feel and atmosphere the song conveys more than makes up for such pitfalls. Another slow burner is the Sabbath inspired "Dead Man" where the riffs are slow and deliberate. The intensity continues with "Nothing I Can Do" complete with dirty guitar riffs and some nice background vocals. The intensity of the guitar is equaled by Hillier's higher pitched vocals. In "Stay Or Go" organ is added to accent the '70s bluesy feel and George lays down some of his best fretwork on the album only to be matched by Hillier's emotive caterwauling whereas the '80s are alive and well in the anthemic "Rock Is Gonna Get You".

One of the album's curiosities is a rocking version of Neil Young's "Rockin' In The Free World" and I must say they do an admirable job of keeping the song's original intensity intact.

For a little retro rock and roll goodness give Light Of The Night a spin. It is a solid album filled with great riffs and some of the catchiest hard rock and metal I have heard in some time.

Track Listing:
1. People Get Ready (5:48)
2. Nothing I Can Do (5:20)
3. Rock Is Gonna Get You (5:45)
4. Rockin' In The Free World (4:38)
5. Stay Or Go (6:59)
6. Dead Man (4:16)
7. On The Run (5:12)
8. The Inheritors (4:41)
9. Power (5:53)
10. Flight Of Innocence (5:27)
11. Black Sunday (9:17)
12. The Reaper (5:12)

Added: February 27th 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1303
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by