Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tenhi: Saivo

It has been four years already since the Finnish trio gave the world the chance to listen their art. The wait was well worth it.

Saivo is a conceptual album based around the cultural world of Finnish Sami. Its meaning is about the world of the ones that have departed, still living their daily lives amongst their families and the coming generations. Ghostly, yes and full of eerie is this concept. This ambience is what greets you from the first composition to the very last moments of this seventy minutes opus. Every instrument and vocals carry the eeriness of the Scandinavian forest and mythology. The acoustic and classical guitars are the leading instruments accompanying the warm/ghostly vocals. As such, Saivo could be considered as a neo-folk album with prominent acoustical/un - plugged instrumentation. All three musicians are multi-instrumentalists handling guitars, vocals, keyboards and various strings. The listener will be immersed in a mesmerizing ambience graced by both acoustic and classical guitars; backed by violins, cello, upright bass, flute and occasional percussions. No heavy music included, but some more up-tempo and somewhat electric tones will complement the ethereal melancholy and saddened hues of their work here and there. This music is quite relaxing and can put you into a dreamy mood. This is suiting real well a quiet night, a foggy day and even while heavy snow is falling (actual occurrence here). The cover art depicts the atmosphere real well too. Many tracks are into the five – six minutes time, although I personally have a weak spot for the long lasting compositions. Songs like: "Uloin", "Haskin", "Surunuotta" and the closer "Siniset Runot" really get my vote here. On the other hand, you will only find good music on this release; not even a bad number. My only regret is that I did not get to work on Saivo earlier, because it would have definitively ended up in my 2011 favorite releases list…sorry Tenhi.

For the music lovers that enjoy elaborate, eerie, dreamy and melancholic neo-folk compositions created by gifted musicians, Saivo has been composed just for you.

Track listing:
1- Saivon Kimallus
2- Pojan Kiiski
3- Uloin
4- Pienet Purot
5- Sateen Soutu
6- Haaksi
7- Surunuotta
8- Savoie
9- Vuoksi
10- Paluu Joelle
11- Sees
12- Siniset Runot

Added: February 26th 2012
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: Prophecy Productions
Hits: 2227
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by