Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Points North: Road Less Travelled

Points North is a instrumental rock trio comprised of guitarist Eric Barnett, bassist Uriah Duffy (ex-Whitesnake), and drummer Kevin Aiello, and their debut for Magna Carta Records is titled Road Less Travelled. These three are all seasoned veterans of the music scene, and you can hear all the experience, miles, and wisdom they've accumulated on the road and in the studio throughout this very enjoyable CD.

From the first song "Vast Horizons", you instantly hear the influence of Steve Morse and his two bands The Dixie Dregs and The Steve Morse Band. Barnett is an extremely talented player, whose lyrical style blends influences from Morse, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, and Eric Johnson. The songs the band have put together are extremely melodic instrumental rock tunes, instantly memorable and containing plenty of tasty soloing, mostly from Barnett, and rock solid rhythms. Barnett's electrifying leads on "The Phoenix" are jaw dropping, while other tracks like "Grace Under Pressure", "Barney", and "The Source" combine lush textures, jazzy sophistication, and rock firepower. "Steve's Morsels" almost comes across like a tribute to the Deep Purple/Dixie Dregs/SMB legend, as Barnett lets loose with a flurry of gymnastic, rapid picked solos and riffs that that has Steve Morse stamped all over it. On "Maiden Voyage" the trio settle into some serious prog-metal styled grooves, with Duffy and Aiello really locked into a tight rhythm and Barnett laying down a wide assortment of meaty riffs and fleet fingered leads. Damn impressive!

Road Less Travelled is one hell of an enjoyable instrumental CD from Points North. The band has been out on the road with acts such as Uli Jon Roth, Blues Traveller, Kings X, Eric Johnson, UFO, Michael Schenker, Al DiMeola, Steve Morse Band, George Lynch, Pat Travers, and many others in recent months, so chances are you might get a chance to see this hot band opening up for some of your favorites. If so, prepare to be amazed.

Track Listing
1 Vast Horizons
2 High Wire
3 The Phoenix
4 Grace Under Pressure
5 Barney
6 Jubilee
7 Steve's Morsels
8 The Source
9 Delay Song
10 Maiden Voyage
11 Sweet Solitude

Added: February 19th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Magna Carta Records
Hits: 4511
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by