Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fair Warning: Best and More

Let's be honest shall we? There's an awful lot to be cynical about concerning Best and More. For a start it's not very long at all since the release of Talking Ain't Enough - Live In Tokyo, then there's the inescapable fact that Fair Warning are an unreconstructed pop metal band from Germany who appear to think that it is still 1987. Allied to that, they are as the cliché goes, big in Japan which is always funny to those of us who live in the UK and like to think we're above everybody else. Surprisingly enough, Best and More is a compilation album and there's a school of thought that these types of albums are merely a cash-in for unscrupulous records companies and often that is the case.

Here we have two CDs of decent if not awe-inspiring melodic rock which pretty much sums up the band's career to date. However, for a band which has already released Live in Japan as well as Live at Home and the aforementioned Talking Ain't Enough - Live In Tokyo there's a strong case to suggest that the cow has well and truly milked dry. If you already own the band's previous material there's not much here to make you shell any more money out for this assembly of the band's best bits and as the only unreleased track is yet another cover of "Rock'n'Roll" (yawn) you may well want to remind yourself of the last line of the previous paragraph.

If, on the other hand you are unfamiliar with the work of Fair Warning then here is as good a place as any. You'll find some very agreeable stuff.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1 Burning Heart (Talking ainīt enough) 4:40
2 Save Me (GO!) 5:09
3 All on your own (GO!) 5:08
4 Longing for love ( Fair Warning) 3:49
5 When Love fails (Fair Warning) 3.39
6 Angels of Heaven (GO!) 5:06
7 Out on the Run (Talking ainīt enough) 4.05
8 Donīt give up (Rainmaker) 4.09
9 Long Gone (Fair Warning) 4:38
10 Generation Jedi (Brotherīs Keeper) 5:12
11 Donīt keep me waiting (Brotherīs Keeper) 4:23
12 Still I believe (Talking ainīt enough) 6:13
13 Heart on the Run (Four) 5:40
14 Here comes the Heartache (Aura) 4:13
15 Iīll be there (GO!) 4:19
16 I fight (Four) 3:57
17 The Way you want it (GO!) 3:56

CD 2
1 Rock*n*Roll ( Previously Unreleased) 4:00
2 A little more love (Live in Japan) 5:02
3 Come on (Go) 3:54
4 The Heart of Summer (Rainmaker) 3:44
5 Angel of dawn (Live at home) 4:26
6 The Call of the heart (Live in Japan) 4:01
7 Rain Song (Live at Home) 4:09
8 Like a Rock (Live and More) 4:07
9 Out of the night ( Live and More) 4:30
10 Meant to be (Live and More) 4:28
11 Donīt count on me (Aura) 4:30
12 Just another perfect Day (Aura) 4:39
13 Light in the dark (Single Track) 4:22
14 Man on the Moon (Live and More) 6:29
15 Childrenīs Eyes (Single Track) 4:12

Added: February 16th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2692
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Fair Warning: Best and More
Posted by Dean Pedley, SoT Staff Writer on 2012-02-16 09:42:25
My Score:

Best And More celebrates the career so far of the German melodic rockers with an expansive 2 disc set that brings together some 32 songs from their back catalogue. There have already been a couple of Fair Warning compilations to date and whilst admittedly this is the most comprehensive so far there is little in the way of previously unreleased material that might have made it more enticing to their loyal and devoted fan base. Aside from a couple of edited single versions and a live version of Led Zeppelin's "Rock n Roll" this compilation has primarily being selected from existing studio and live efforts beginning with 1992's eponymous debut and taking the listener right up to date with 2010's Talking Ain't Enough: Live In Tokyo. Fair Warning remain a hugely popular attraction in Japan and no doubt this album will be well received in that particular territory, acting as something of a stop-gap whilst fans are kept waiting for some new material.

Leaving aside the merits of releasing this album, what you are left with is top-notch melodic rock with some highly memorable guitar work courtesy of Helge Engelke and outstanding vocals from dynamic front man Tommy Heart. Fair Warning have delivered numerous quality tunes throughout their career so far and the likes of "Generation Jedi", "Burning Heart" "Save Me", "Here Comes The Heartache" and "Still I Believe" represent some of the very best from their sparkling back catalogue. High tempo rockers, mid-tempo anthems and smooth power ballads are all part of the Fair Warning songbook and they are undoubtedly in the premier league of European melodic rock bands of the past two decades.

Đ 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Đ Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by