Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Consortium Project: IV - Children of Tomorrow

Our editor-in-chief Mr Pardo can be a very wise man when he puts his mind to it. In his perceptive review of the most recent Consortium Project album Species he noted that, "If you've been satisfied with the previous entries, which have all been jam packed with bombastic progressive & power metal, then certainly Species will also be much to your liking." He went on to note that, "In the end, you either love this sort of thing or you don't. Species delivers just what you'd expect from Ian Parry & Co., so if you enjoy massive guitar riffs, soaring melodies, symphonic keyboards, and Parry's leather lunged vocals, there's a lot to enjoy here."

Therein lies the rub in many ways. I for one do quite enjoy massive guitar riffs, soaring keyboards and the rest. I've enjoyed the Consortium Project from beginning to end and think that Lion Music has done a terrific job in sprucing up the series for reissue and re-evaluation. Once again the album sounds great and to my ears there is a lot to enjoy on Children of Tomorrow. The opening to "Mastermind" is particularly thrilling although the rest of the song doesn't quite live up to the opening salvo. "Let the Wind Carry You Home" is decidedly lovely yet such is the niche nature of the material that it is difficult to see it breaking out of its little musical ghetto. That is by no means to say that it shouldn't but it won't and that's a sad fact of life. I'm reviewing this the day after the 2012 Grammy's were announced and it's fair to say that they showed the paucity of talent and authenticity in modern popular music and that the mainstream is becoming safer and safer all the time. Music like this deserves to be heard but chances are that it won't which is a shame.

Track Listing:
01. A Sign Of The Times 4:35
02. Nowhere Fast 4:29
03. Neverland 3:23
04. Shadows 4:35
05. Exodus 4:21
06. Made In Heaven 3:41
07. Let The Wind Carry You Home 3:44
08. Enigma 4:50
09. Mastermind 3:51
10. Path Of Destruction 3:39
11. Children Of Tomorrow 4:22
12. Aches & Pains (bonus) 4:02
13. Let The Wind Carry You Home (bonus acoustic) 3:29

Added: February 13th 2012
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Ian Parry Website
Hits: 1592
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by