Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lamb of God: Resolution

Lamb of God's seventh album Resolution (and fourth for Epic) basically takes the same formula they've steadily built up over the years and sees the band once again delivering a crushing platter of groove laden death metal & thrash. Though it might be hard for some to understand just how this band from Virginia is able to assault the Billboard charts here in the US time after time with their relentless & brutal material, they still continue to do so each time out as their fanbase grows and grows.

Resolution was produced by Josh Wilbur, and feature 14 songs that were mostly written or at least started by the band while on tour with their previous album Wrath a few years back. You can tell a lot of time was spent crafting these tunes, as each is a powerful statement that contains all the trademark Lamb of God elements that metalheads have come to love. Randy Blythe's vocals for many are an acquired taste; you either love his evil growls & screams or you hate them. On Resolution he's at his maniacal best, his venemous roar working overtime on lethal cuts "The Undertow", "Desolation", and the doomy opener "Straight for the Sun". Guitarists Mark Morton and Willie Adler lay down plenty of intricate riffs and solos throughout, showing why so many fans & critics rate them very highly on the list of current heavy metal guitar heroes. Of course, you also have the insane drum work of Chris Adler, he of the superhuman skills behind the kit. His complex fills and intricate polyrhythms are all over the wild "Invictus" and the hardcore fueled intensity of "Cheated". Other highlights here include the Pantera styled groove of "To the End", the death metal ferocity of "Terminally Unique", and the moody dirge that is "King Me".

All extreme metal winners from start to finish, it's hard to find any fault with Resolution other than the fact that Lamb of God basically don't bring much new to the table anymore. For most though that's going to be a good thing, as their tried and true formula is just as potent today as it was when they first hit the scene.

Track Listing
1. Straight for the Sun
2. Desolation
3. Ghost Walking
4. Guilty
5. The Undertow
6. The Number Six
7. Barbarossa
8. Invictus
9. Cheated
10. Insurrection
11. Terminally Unique
12. To The End
13. Visitation
14. King Me

Added: February 4th 2012
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2037
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by