Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Oliver Dawson Saxon: Motorbiker

Oliver Dawson Saxon are the band comprising original Saxon members Graham Oliver (guitars) and Steve "Dobby" Dobson (bass), the line-up being completed by fellow Saxon alumnus Nigel Durham (drums), former Shy vocalist Wardi and second guitarist Haydn Conway. ODS have been plugging away for more than a decade with their shows largely consisting of vintage Saxon material and for the release of this album of original studio material they have linked up with the highly regarded Angel Air, a label best known for its archive projects

Oliver and Dawson will shortly be issuing their autobiography, the wittingly titled Saxon Drugs & Rock n Roll The Real Spinal Tap which promises to be an entertaining read. In the meantime this is an album for those with an ear for old school classic metal, happy to bask in the nostalgia of the glory days of the NWOBHM when Saxon, Maiden, Diamond Head and the rest dominated the back of every denim jacket via patches and embroidered logos. Oliver and Conway churn out chugging riffs and wailing solos at regular intervals and Wardi is a straight forward, no nonsense vocalist with the band mainly sticking to a tried and tested formula that doesn't seek to break any new ground. The lyrics are the undeniable weak spot and at times would make Spinal Tap blush so don't expect any deep and meaningful insights on the likes of "Hell In Helsinki" (inspired by the Icelandic volcano), "Chemical Romance" (drug addiction) or the glaringly obvious title track. When they do stray out of their comfort zone with the tender ballad "Just Another Suicide" (dedicated to Alexander McQueen) the results are overwhelmingly positive. Overall a decent enough effort from ODS that will certainly be of interest to fans of the original band.

Track Listing
1. Chemical Romance
2. Motorbiker
3. Whippin Boy
4. No Way Out
5. Just Another Suicide
6. Sinternet
7. Ghost
8. Nevada Beach
9. Screaming Eagles
10. Worlds Gone Crazy
11. Hell In Helsinki
12. Nursery Crimes

Added: February 2nd 2012
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Angel Air
Hits: 2874
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by