Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Nitrogods: Nitrogods

"Three men, three corners, and down to earth no bullshit rock 'n' roll!" That's the mission statement from German three-piece Nitrogods and bloody hell do they deliver! Featuring the one time Primal Fear pairing of guitarist and howler Henry Wolter (also of Thunderhead and Sinner) and drummer Klaus Sperling (also of Freedom Call) and being completed by Oimel Larcher on bass, this is one power trio capable of hammering out good time rock 'n' roll with the best of them. Unsurprisingly bringing Motorhead as well as Rose Tattoo to mind, although a smarter more Demolition 23 style rock 'n' roll 'n' punk vibe is never far away either, this self titled debut effort is a shit-kicker of an album positively brimming with threatening, aggression as well as a whiskey fuelled swagger. Reinventing the wheel Nitorgods most certainly aren't, but Rockin' with intent and as likely to flash you a grin, as they are to smash your face in, they most definitely are! A quick burst of the steamrollering "Demolition Inc." or "License To Play Loud" will immediately gab you by the balls, give them a sharp rattle and then leave you reeling on the floor, while the self explanatory and expletive splattered "Lipsynch Stars" leaves no doubt the Nitrogods didn't spend months Pro-tooling their performances on this album and all the more genuine they feel for that ethos.

Tying up the Motorhead influence, "Fast" Eddie Clarke shows up on "Wasted In Berlin" to fire out a trademark solo, while Nazareth frontman Dan McCafferty growls his gravely grunt through the wonderfully titled "Whiskey Wonderland". Guest stars however don't make an album, and in truth Nitrogods don't need them, as they have some of the hardest hitting rock 'n' roll this side of classic era 'Head and while Wolter may not quite have the same bourbon soaked charisma to his voice as Lemmy, he sure ain't far behind. There isn't anything on this debut album that could be classed as intricate, or challenging, but at the same time there isn't one single song that doesn't have you punching the air, or hammering out imaginary riffs - and who doesn't need a little of that in their life?

Great guitars, rasping vocals, thunderous drums and towering bass, if Motorhead ever decide to abdicate from their Heavy Rock 'n' Roll throne, then Nitrogods are destined to be their successors.

Track Listing
01. Black Car Driving Man
02. Demolition Inc.
03. At Least I'm Drunk
04. Gasoline
05. Whiskey Wonderland (feat. Dan McCafferty)
06. Licence To Play Loud
07. Lipsynch Stars
08. The Devil Dealt The Deck
09. Rifle Down
10. Riptide
11. Wasted In Berlin (feat. Fast Eddie Clarke)
12. Zombietrain

Added: February 1st 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Nitrogods Online
Hits: 1460
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by