Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Savage Messiah: Plague Of Conscience

Although guitarist/lead singer Dave Silver cringes every time he hears it, the comparison to Megadeth is unavoidable but just the starting point from which Savage Messiah launch their thrashy metal goodness onto the unsuspecting public. With this their third release, the band shows that they will not be pigeonholed or restrained to such a narrow genre. Always keeping it as heavy as hell, they manage to inject many other aspects to their music that makes this disc a really treat to the listener.

Throughout the ten tracks on the album Savage Messiah gives you a wide array of musical forms that will make you wonder where these guys have been hiding. From the opening of the disc with the title track "Plague Of Conscience" where you will hear why they get the Dave Mustaine reference to the progressive sound of "In Through Alone" that reminds me more of Circle II Circle or Zak Stevens era Savatage, Savage Messiah will have you mesmerized by their musical abilities and the way they bring a more melodic approach to this headbangers dream. Few albums can hold a person from start to finish but this is one that pushes all the right buttons and never falters. Simply put, they have put out an album that has everything you would want. Heart pounding anthems like "Six Feet Under The Gun" and "Beyond A Shadow Of A Doubt" give you a chance to pump your fist while still having some terrific melodic passages. Songs like "Carnival Of Souls" and album closer "The Mask Of Anarchy" show a sense of melody that stretches past the thrash metal tag. Then there is the scorching fire of "Architects Of Fear" and "Shadowbound" to help round out the disc. This is not an album to be taken lightly, they mean to put their stamp on the metal landscape and this disc should do the trick.

This one is a no brainer. If it isn't already in your collection then I strongly suggest that you just hop over to their site and rectify the situation. It is easily going to be on many best of list and rightfully so.

Track listing:

1. Plague Of Conscience
2. Six Feet Under The Gun
3. Carnival Of Souls
4. In Through Alone
5. All Seeing I
6. Beyond A Shadow Of A Doubt
7. Architects Of Fear
8. The Accuser
9. Shadowbound
10. The Mask Of Anarchy

Added: January 26th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2278
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by