Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Crowned By Fire: Prone To Destroy

Depending on your view, Prone To Destroy, which is the debut album from HEAVY Metal (yes they are block capitals HEAVY!) crushers Crowned By Fire will either be a reason to rejoice, or another opportunity to tell everyone "I was there when this type of stuff started!".

Formed by guitarist Justin Manning, who has been a guitar tech and PA for Zakk Wylde, and body piercing singer John Fitterer, CBF grind and growl with a ferocious snarl, being utterly, utterly convincing and downright dangerous as they do so. Pantera immediately spring to mind, but so does the slow grind of Kyuss or Sabbath, although not surprisingly guitarist Manning does like to add the odd guitar squeeeeeeeal, ala Wylde himself. As for Fitterer, he's a more than capable singer and rather than the arrrrggghhhhh type vocals that so split opinions in the Metal crowd, his delivery is more rasping than monstrous. However as you work your way through Prone To Destroy, his incredibly monotone expressions certainly become more than a little tedious - something made all the more disappointing when he reveals a stunning Burton C Bell meets Ozzy clean vocal that is all too often hidden away to let the HEAVYNESS rule.

There is no doubt though that Crowned By Fire do HEAVY very well, with each and every track pummelling home with a convincing smack, leaving the unsuspecting winded by the force of the likes of "Shake The Bag", "As Above, So Below" and "Witch In The Window". Subtlety is not exactly a strong point and the picky could rightly suggest that everything here is more than a little one dimensional and while that is a finger that could be pointed at many bands, those seeking a little variation from their Metal, will find Prone To Destroy way too simplistic for them. If however your neck muscles are in need of a good workout, or your looking to give your speakers a mighty shock, then Crowned By Fire will fit the bill perfectly.

Track Listing
01. I Spit On Your Curse
02. Sex With A Ghost
03. Witch In The Window
04. Get Under The Dirt
05. Black Moon Shine
06. Shake The Bag
07. I Am The Crime
08. Tombs Ov Oblivion
09. As Above, So Below
10. Vulture With A Rifle
11. Prone To Destroy

Added: January 23rd 2012
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Crowned By Fire Official Website
Hits: 1661
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by