Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Colborn, Clark: Again

"Clark Colborn is a hard rock, progressive & experimental guitarist. Guitar Player Magazine called his music "brilliantly schizoid," said his "tone comes on like Godzilla" and "in short, he rocks! (, 2012)".

This is a surprisingly good compilation of heavy metal and rock rhythms brought together with power electric guitar chords set to excellent drum patterns. Colborn plays all guitars, bass, piano and handles the vocals throughout the album. Joel Baer provides the drums, and rhythmic acrobatics.

The Unexpected opens with the full on power of the bass, drums and expert lead guitar. It takes the listener on a rough and tumble road of power rhythm, after the great opening explosion. The high pitched guitar sounds are maximized throughout this powerful opener. The drumming supports the power chords well.

An Imperfect Waltz is one of the best tracks on the album. The power drums that open the track are excellent. The electric guitar chords rise to the level of some of the sounds I heard on Led Zeppelin's Presence album. It also has a sound which takes me back to some of Rush's late 1980s sound.

Lie to Me is full of head-banging rhythm set to blasting drums and electric guitar. Colborn's vocals add more kick to the album as he inserts more of his personality into the mix. It is also the longest track at over six minutes. The Harmonic Thing is a cool guitar fingering track.

Mr. In a Hurry Part 2 picks up the pace and volume again. It is full of power chords, bass and drums. I hear some early Van Halen and other bombastic electric guitar influences.

Lilacs & Cardinals opens with some cool keys and slow chords providing a nice variation in the rhythm of the album. One of the best tracks on the album because of the soft rhythms it provides.

It's Your Life is a bolder, heavier sound full of dark electric chords and pulsating rhythms. Very Rush like at times. Shredding guitar and Colborn's vocals riding over the production. There is some excellent heavy metal guitar soloing on this track. Into the Mist opens slow and full of mystery. Slow electric guitar chords weaving shadows and sounds through an eerie mist setting.

73 is a Led Zep, foot stomper. Full of power drums and even more powerful electric guitar chords.

Stop Talking is full of smashing cymbals and drums with equally smashing guitar chords matching Colborn's dark vocals.

Aftermath stops and starts before building a drum and power chord rhythm eerily similar to Zep's Kashmir at times. Very cool closer to slam shut the door on this solo album.

Track Listing:

1. The Unexpected
2. An Imperfect waltz
3. Lie to Me
4. The Harmonic Thing
5. Mr. In a Hurry Part 2
6. Lilacs & Cardinals
7. It's Your Life
8. Into the Mist
9. 73
10. Stop Talking
11. Aftermath

Added: January 22nd 2012
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Clark
Hits: 1922
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by