Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Buckingham, Lindsey: Songs from the Small Machine Live in L.A. (Blu-Ray)

With the release of his new solo album Seeds We Sow, Buckingham embarked on a tour to support it with a stop at the majestic Saban Theater in Beverly Hills California. Filmed in high-definition with DTS Surround-Sound, this concert is one that fans both old and new will enjoy. At almost 2 hours long and with 19 songs that span his career, Lindsey delivers what all have come to expect from him. Even though his vocals are not what they once were and he seems to be singing flat at times, there is no denying his contribution to music.

Starting off with an acoustic set that accentuates his nimble fretwork, Buckingham draws in the audience before he brings out the band and gives the crowd a rousing run through of both his solo work and some of his masterful contributions to Fleetwood Mac. The highlight of the disc is when he really lets it all go during the bluesy "I'm So Afraid" and the Mac classic "Go Your Own Way". His unique finger-picking style is clearly on display for these songs and the solos are magical.

He ends the concert the same way he started it with just him, a guitar and the audience as he performs the title track to the new disc Seeds We Sow. With that the artist has given the crowd a good example of where he is now musically even though it is only a stones throw away from his work with Fleetwood Mac. In this form, the Small Machine as he calls it, you can see that he is a musician and troubadour who is still a commanding writer and performer. You will have some fun reminiscing with Lindsey and even the new stuff will make you think of a night with an old friend.

Also on the disc is an in depth interview with Buckingham. On it he talks about the ebb and flow of Fleetwood Mac and his solo journey. He also gives you a song by song breakdown of the new disc. It is a very interesting conversation with the artist.

All in all it is a very worthwhile contribution and a disc that will come off the shelf now and then I am sure. This is one to savor with a good glass of wine and the fireplace blazing.

Track listing:

1. Shut Us Down
2. Go Insane
3. Trouble
4. Never Going Back Again
5. Big Love
6. Under The Skin
7. All My Sorrows
8. In Our Own Time
9. Illumination
10. Second Hand News
11. Tusk
12. Stars Are Crazy
13. End Of Time
14. That's The Way That Love Goes
15. I'm So Afraid
16. Go Your Own Way
17. Turn It On
18. Treason
19. Seeds We So

Added: January 15th 2012
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Lindsey Buckingham's Official Site
Hits: 1862
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by