Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sergiy: The Mirror

Ukrainian born Sergiy Matvyeychenko is a Ukrainian born singer/songwriter/actor who now resides in North Carolina. The Mirror is his first release.

Let me first say this is as far removed from the progressive rock genre as you are likely come across on this site. Upon first listening to The Mirror I was unsure what to make of it. It is not a bad record, just one that I would not expect to come across as a reviewer of progressive music. However, to slough something off on the basis of genre would not be fair so I decided to give The Mirror a fair shot. While this is not something I would generally pull out from my music collection, for a pop album it is actually pretty good.

The album consists of fifteen songs, all one to four minutes in length. If you are expecting complicated music you might as well stop reading this review right now. Sergiy's heavy accented voice did take some time getting used to but it did grow on me and he does show a sense of humour. Sergiy's lyrics, like his music, are simple vignettes painting pictures of everyday life. Most songs are centered around his acoustic rhythms and they often have a folky quality.

The album's first song is the catchy "Let's Play Hockey" and could be thought as the Russian version of Stompin' Tom Connors' "The Hockey Song".

"From Russia With Love" with its choppy rhythms and tongue and cheek humour has a gypsy flavour.

"No More" has a country feel while "Know What You Are" features some pretty good lead guitar.

This album will not blow anybody away musically but if you are looking for pop music in the lighter side of the spectrum and appreciate a sense of humour you just might like this. Just know this has nothing to do with progressive rock.

Track Listing:
1. Let's Play Hockey
2. I'm Finally Off
3. From Russia With Love
4. Safe Place
5. No More
6. Know What You Are
7. Life Is Good
8. City Cop
9. Love, I Miss You
10. Your Love Keeps Me Warm
11. Julia
12. Happy New Year
13. From Russia With Love (Russian)
14. This Is Part Of My Life
15. Happy Birthday

Added: January 15th 2012
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1767
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by