Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Freedom Call: Live in Hellvetia (DVD/CD)

There is power metal and then there is POWER METAL! Fans of Freedom Call know what I am talking about and this package could be the dictionary definition of the term. Although some are put off by what they call the "happy metal" that these guys perform, it is to me a blessing whenever the chance comes along to hear a band that produces such fantastic music while not having to reside on the darker side of life. The band Freedom Call carries you away to a mystical place where knights, fair maidens and the magic of Merlin are commonplace. It is escapist metal where anthem after anthem has you reaching for your broadsword and pumping your fist while the neck receives maximum punishment from all the headbanging. You get all this along with about 2000 fans in Pratteln, Switzerland for the nearly 2 hour ride that is a Freedom Call concert. This is one to sit back and crank up the speakers as you hear and or watch an event that you will really wish you had attended.

Not only that, with this package you get another disc that shows the band on the road and the very unglamorous side of being a rock star. Usually these type of disc are rather boring to me but this one is filled with many humorous moments and is an entertaining documentary. Mostly in German with English sub-titles, it is still one of the better bonus disc you will see, not to mention there is an 8 song set from a festival in France on here.

The other thing that I really, really have to give them credit for is the CD recordings that are included. This is one time where the CD is the complete concert without cutting songs to make space. You get the duplicate of what is on the DVD.

From the beginning of the disc with the folkish metal anthem "We Are One", frontman Chris Bay ignites the crowd and for the next 2 hours they are given one after another of these songs where audience participation is mandatory. Other than a couple times when they slow it down as with the ballad "Merlin Requiem" this is an all you can eat buffet for the power metal lover.

This is a very enjoyable DVD which was shot in such a way that you can really get into the concert. It is done from many angles but doesn't use the distracting flipping from camera to camera that you see on so many concert disc. You can actually watch this one as if you are there in the middle of this very enthusiastic crowd and I wish I was. A terrific concert by a very underrated band. Do your self a favor and check this one out.

The packaging is top notch also and there is a booklet filled with many photos of the tour and even a poster for your wall. All in all this one was a very pleasant suprise.

Track listing:


1. We Are One
2. United Alliance
3. Thunder God
4. Tears Of Babylon
5. Blackened Sun
6. Queen Of My World
7. Out Of The Ruins
8. Hunting High And Low
9. Drum Solo
10. Metal Invasion
11. Merlin Requiem
12. Merlin Legend Of The Past
13. The Quest
14. Warriors
15. A Perfect Day
16. Far Away
17. Mr. Evil
18. Land Of Light
19. Freedom Call
20. Hymn To The Brave


1. A Perfect Day In The Life Of Freedom Call

CD 1

1. We Are One
2. United Alliance
3. Thunder God
4. Tears Of Babylon
5. Blackened Sunday
6. Queen Of My World
7. Out Of The Ruins
8. Hunting High And Low
9. Drum Solo
10. Metal Invasion

CD 2

1. Merlin Requiem
2. Merlin Legend Of The Past
3. The Quest
4. Warriors
5. A Perfect Day
6. Far Away
7. Mr. Evil
8. Land Of Light
9. Freedom Call
10. Hymn To The Brave

Added: January 1st 2012
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1771
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by