Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Reform: Reveries of Reform

Reveries of Reform is the latest Transubstans Records release from Swedish prog rock/jazz-fusion act Reform. The band is comprised of Jesper Bergman (electric bass and vocals), Peter Åkerberg (electric guitar and assorted keyboards), Anders Bergman (drums), Magnus Ramel (keyboards), and Mattias Lennestig keyboards). Reveries of Reform is the bands sixth album overall, and also features guest musicians and composers such as Bill Öhrström, Åke Eriksson, Per Tjernberg and Ralph Lundsten.

With 2 CDs, there's a lot of material to take in here, but it's well worth taking that journey. Fans of 70's acts like Weather Report, Return to Forever, Brand X, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Camel, Yes, Genesis, and Lifetime will especially love the long instrumental pieces here, such as "Tax Vobiscum", "Another Happy Landing", and I Furuskogen". Extended musical passages featuring gorgeous electric piano, synths, and lyrical guitar will instantly remind of the great fusion and prog bands of the classic era. The vocal tracks don't work as well, like "Nuclear War", as Bergman's singing isn't quite up to the task, but thankfully the majority of the CD is instrumental. "The Faithful" with some sizzling wah-wah guitar licks and tasty piano, and the wonderful "Madame Riot Lajath" mixes fusion with some lovely Camel styled prog rock. That mixing of prog with jazz again surfaces on "Uncle Urri II", as tasty electric piano, floating synths, and legato guitar lines make up the majority of the mix.

Reveries of Reform was a pleasant surprise, filled with sumptuous prog and exciting jazz-fusion that scratches that itch for vintage sounds of the 70's. No doubt I'll be investigating some of this Swedish bands back catalog after hearing this one.

Track Listing
Disc 1
01 Another Happy Landing
02 Tax Vobiscum
03 Mitsuhirato
04 I Furuskogen
05 Nuclear War
06 The Faithful

Disc 2
01 Madame Riot Lajath
02 Little Vienna
03 Align
04 Three Part Dream
05 Uncle Urri II
06 From The Hilltop And Beyond

Added: December 31st 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 4248
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by