Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Riot: Immortal Soul

Long time NY Metal band Riot, have returned with a new disc entitled, Immortal Soul, featuring the famous 1988 Thundersteel era line up. This line up features, Tony Moore on vocals, Mark Reale and Mike Flyntz (former additional live guitar for band) on guitars, Don Van Stavern on bass and the one and only Bobby Jarzombek on the drums. This line up returns to deliver a manic paced Power Metal record that is very much far removed from the early '80's,Fire Down Under band that I grew up loving, but fans of that Thundersteelera will totally eat this one up!

Immortal Soul is 12 tracks of pure Power Metal that Metal God drummer, Bobby Jarzombek (Halford), makes his presence felt on every single song. He easily gets the MVP of the CD right from the word go. Jarzombek bashes and thrashes his way through this record and sets the pace for Reale & Co.. Back on vocals is singer Tony Moore, who seems to be a fan favorite and he does deliver a damn good performance here on Immortal Soul, but he does begin to grate on this reviewers nerves after a while. He has a semi-falsetto vocal style that borders on the almost annoying at times. If you can imagine a cross of Tony Harnell (of TNT fame) and original Riot singer, the legendary Guy Speranza, with some falsetto thrown in there for good measure, Moore falls somewhere in there.

Killer tracks like the crushing Jarzombek drum opening of "Still Your Man", the bombastic, anthem feel of "Riot" or the pulsating riff of "Sins Of The Father" are all great examples of the Power Metal that Riot is delivering these days. Immortal Soul,when in full on assault mode, reminds me a lot of the past couple of Halford discs. I'm sure Bobby Jarzombek had a lot to do with that, with him being the common thread between both bands. I can easily hear Halford wailing on these tunes, as well. Powerful again is the word that has to be used here. Riot's founding member and guitarist, Mark Reale delivers some nice guitar work, alongside fellow six stringer, Mike Flyntz.

If you are a fan of Riot's newer, more metallic material then this record is a must own and this is the line up that you have been waiting 22 years for them to reunite. Immortal Soul will find a home with Euro Power Metal fans, for sure. This is a really good effort, good but not great. It is a grower of a record that you will probably find yourself liking the more you give it spins. The production is solid and the songs are pure Metal. Give this one a good listen.

Track Listing:
1. Still Your Man
2. Riot
3. Crawling
4. Wings Are For Angels
5. Sins of the Father
6. Fall Before Me
7. Majestica
8. Immortal Soul
9. Insanity
10. Whiskey Man
11. Believe
12. Echoes

Added: December 31st 2011
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2876
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by