Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lock Up: Necropolis Transparent

It's taken 9 years, but the extreme metal supergroup known as Lock Up are back with their third platter of death metal, thrash, and grind called Necropolis Transparent. The band at this time features Shane Embury of Napalm Death on bass, Tomas Lindberg of At The Gates on vocals, and insane drummer Nick Barker, formerly of Cradle of Filth and Dimmu Borgir. Rounding out the group is guitarist Anton Reisenegger.

In traditional grind fashion, expect plenty of raging, speedy & brutal songs here, all fairly brief but to the point. Think of this as grind but played with the precision of thrash and the intensity of death metal. Lindberg sounds right at home with his patented raspy growl, and the churning riffs of Reisenegger form a brutal wall under which Barker's sledgehammer drum blasts & Embury's booming bass can deliver intricate rhythms. Original vocalist Peter Tagtgren (Hypocrisy/Pain) and Carcass legend Jeff Walker provide some guest vocals on a few tracks, making this even more of an all-star affair. Highlights are many, but be sure you check out "The Embodiment Of Paradox And Chaos", "Brethren of the Pentagram", "Life of Devastation", and "Unseen Enemy". Though Barker is surely the star of the show with his unbelievable blasting, look for some tasty death/black/grind/thrash riffing throughout from Reisenegger, who proves to be a more than capable player.

If there's any drawback to Necropolis Transparent, it's that with 17 tracks, after a while many of them start to take the same path and sound very simillar. That however is more a criticism of grind in general, as when the band slows things down to more of a death metal state, like on "Rage Incarnate Reborn", things get even more exciting. Regardless, Rage Incarnate Reborn is a solid return from this cast of extreme metal luminaries.

Track Listing
01. Brethren Of The Pentagram
02. Accelerated Mutation
03. The Embodiment Of Paradox And Chaos [feat. Jeff Walker]
04. Necropolis Transparent [feat. Peter Tägtgren]
05. Parasite Drama [feat. Jeff Walker]
06. Anvil Of Flesh
07. Rage Incarnate Reborn
08. Unseen Enemy [feat. Jeff Walker]
09. Stygian Reverberations
10. Life Of Devastation
11. Roar Of A Thousand Throats
12. Infiltrate And Destroy
13. Discharge The Fear [feat. Jeff Walker]
14. Vomiting Evil
15. Stigmatyr [bonus]
16. Through The Eyes Of My Shadow Self [feat. Peter Tägtgren]
17. Tartarus [Instrumental]

Added: December 30th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2315
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by