Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hard Stuff: Bulletproof / Bolox Dementia (re-issues)

The late John Du Cann worked with specialist heritage label Angel Air for a number of years on his various back catalogue offerings and following his recent passing will be much missed. This latest pair of releases dates from his time with power trio Hard Stuff the band which came about via the exit of Du Cann and Paul Hammond from Atomic Rooster in the early 1970's. The pair teamed up with John Gustafson under the Bullet moniker (see elsewhere on the site for review of demo album Entrance To Hell) but a name change became necessary and they eventually settled on Hard Stuff.

Du Cann really lets rip on the Bulletproof album with plenty of guitar solos and crunching riffs in the vein of Uriah Heep, Grand Funk and of course Atomic Rooster. The absence of Vincent Crane's Hammond makes for a harder-edged sound and there are a number of stand out cuts including "No Witch At All", "Sinister Minister" and the fiery "Millionaire". Impressive stuff then and hopes were high for the follow-up album Bolox Dementia when fate intervened and Hammond and Du Cann were badly injured in a car accident that, together with issues over the cover art, delayed the release for a year. By this time the momentum had been lost and the trio went their separate ways. Not as heavy as its predecessor Bolox Dementia has a more funk rock flavour, some of which is not unlike Gustafson's later work with the Ian Gillan Band, notably on "Roll A Rocket", "Spiders Web" and "Get Lost".

Bonus tracks and liner notes always form part of the Angel Air package and this is once again the case here. Overlooked first time around, Hard Stuff are a band that are well worth investigating for fans of 70's blues-driven Hard Rock and these two albums offer excellent value for money.

Track Listing
1.Jay Time
2. Sinister Minister
3. No Witch At All
4. Taken Alive
5. Time Gambler
6. Millionaire
7. Monster in Paradise
8. Hobo
9. Mr. Longevity - Rip
10. The Provider - Part One
11. Jay Time (single version)
12. The Orchestrator
Bolox Dementia
1.Sick N Tired
2. Mermany
3. Jumpin' Thumpin'
4. Dazzle Dizzy
5. Bolex Dementia
6. Roll A Rocket
7. Libel
8. Ragman
9. Spider's Web
10. Get Lost
11. Inside Your Life
12. (It's) How You Do It

Added: December 29th 2011
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Angel Air
Hits: 1909
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by