Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Savior: The Landing

During my first listen to The Landing I texted my elder son that I was listening to the new Iron Savior album and that, "surprisingly enough, it's metal as f**k," because do you know what dear reader? Being metal is what Iron Savior do. They don't do anything else, that's it. They're metal, more metal than you (sorry, Mr. Posehn,)more metal than me; to recap, Iron Savior play Heavy Metal – and thank goodness they do because the world would be a lesser place without them.

I have to confess that I'm a bit of a fanboy. I saw their set at Bloodstock in 2005, had my jacket signed by them and immediately retired said item of clothing and I once buttonholed guitarist Joachim "Piesel" Küstner in Manchester where he was working for Edguy. So it would be true to say that the chances of an unbiased review here are slight. That said, as I may have mentioned earlier, The Landing is metal as f**k. The key thing about Iron Savior is that you know what you're going to get and they always deliver and four years after the rather fine Megatropolis they have delivered another no-nonsense slab of sci-fi inflected Heavy Metal. Since Megatropolis there's been a line-up change seeing Jan S. Eckert return to the band replacing Yenz Leonhardt thus reuniting the line-up which made Condition Red in 2002.

Perhaps the best thing about The Landing is its sheer unpretentiousness. From start to finish there are huge hooks, gang choruses and massive guitars with a clean uncluttered production. Everywhere one looks there are top songs - "Hall of the Heroes" just happens to be playing as I type and illustrates my point exactly. Yes, this song may well point out that, "the fires are burning for evermore" and other lyrical clichés but occasionally meat and veg metal is just what the doctor ordered and Iron Savior have just the right prescription.

Track Listing
1. "Descending" - 1:04
2. "The Savior" - 4:47
3. "Starlight" - 4:51
4. "March Of Doom" - 4:42
5. "Heavy Metal Never Dies" - 4:14
6. "Moment In Time" - 5:07
7. "Hall Of The Heroes" - 5:38
8. "R.U. Ready" - 4:48
9. "Faster Than All" - 5:03
10. "Before The Pain" - 4:34
11. "No Guts No Glory" - 4:28

Added: December 24th 2011
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2533
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by