Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

In the Labyrinth: One Trail to Heaven

Peter Lindahl is the founder and leader of the band In the Labyrinth. He created some engaging music in which Northern psychedelic folk blends harmoniously with Middle Eastern music in the mid to late 1990s and has released this new album "One Trail to Heaven" on the Trail Records label. The tracks included on the album are the most fascinating compositions with a new re-mastered sound as well as some previously unreleased material and alternate versions of songs from Peter's exclusive personal archive. Produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by Peter Lindahl in his studio in Stockholm, Sweden. Recordings were made between 1993 and 2004. All songs were written by Peter Lindahl with the exception of track 4: Peter Lindahl & Mikael Gejel; track 10: Niklas & Peter Lindahl; track 11: Peter Lindahl & Stefan Andersson; track 12: Justin Hayward (Cromwell Music Inc. OBO Essex Music Inc.) Vlad Milyavsky & Alex Tsalikhin.

This album is primarily the work of Peter Lindahl, who plays most of the over 25 different instruments. Valeria Troubina's artwork is amazing and draws you into the CD right from the start. As a longtime fan of the sitar, I was mesmerized by the amount of sitar presented on this album. The myriad of places Lindahl visits on this journey are worth the price of admission alone, since he transports you to some very exotic locations from the comfort of your mind. You feel like you are transformed and in the location for each song as the power of the melody and strength of the music allows your mind to drift from the tedium of daily existence to stand atop Himalayan heights or out on the dark moors of the Baskerville. Every note sounds like it has been chosen precisely and every dance or melody is full of emotion and inspiration.

Buy this; you can thank Peter Lindahl later.

Track Listing:

1. Lost in the Woods opens slowly and quietly with bells, evocative vocal surroundings, chimes and keyboards. It sets the perfect mood of relaxation for this festive time of the year. The sound and strength of the emotions for this opening sets you up for the sitar and acoustic guitar arrangements that follow. The guitar and keyboards weave a pattern of mystery with water effects and the return of the sitar. Flutes join in later to seal the deep spiritual feeling of the piece. Similar in sound to some of Blackmore's Night. Great way to open an album. You know you are embarking on a journey you will enjoy repeating in the future.

2. Escape from Canaan opens with drums, percussion, and eastern rhythms, before the sitar and tabla beats join in to bring home the feelings, sounds and surroundings of this ancient land creating a mystical world.

3. Moorish Rhapsody takes things in a slightly different direction with guitar work and vocals. Another of the best tracks on the albums. Helena Jacobssen's beautiful backing vocals and the bass strings give this track a different sound. Lindahl's vocals remind me of Justin Hayward a little on this track. The Spanish guitars and rhythms are excellent and add to the authenticity of the sound.

4. The Garden of Mysteries is another Eastern sounding instrumental full of sitar with Darbouka beats surrounding. Birdsong and what sounds like a cuckoo bird invoke the feeling of the natural world surrounding us as the Eastern melodies engulf your senses. The flutes and keys add to the variety of sound coming from this garden.

5. Monsoon opens with keys, tabla, and the sounds of falling rain, before the piano joins in to add variety to the mix on this album.

6. Over the Wall is the best track on an album of greatest hits for me. The opening lyrics and vocals are wonderful and put you as the listener directly in the middle of the experience of the song. The drums, flutes, sitar, and surrounding effects are otherworldly. You can imagine those Himalayan heights and the "pinnacles of snow" just from the description provided.

7. Karakoram Waltz is set near the Himalayan heights and you can still feel the power and majesty of this magical place reflected perfectly within this music. The flute work on this track provides stillness and majesty.

8. Musicarin Madness opens with bells, chimes and keys, accompanied by some excellent electric guitar. Kristina Fuentes provides soft and elegant background vocals with Lindahl on lead vocals.

9. Deep Saffron opens with soft strings and lead electric guitar, with orchestration surrounding. Cool, relaxing effects set to wonderful key tones.

10. Night of the Baskerville Killer is full of mystery from the tales of the great Scotland Yard sleuth Sherlock Holmes. The second best track on the album for me. You feel as if you are right on the moors in the dark of night with this one.

11. The Endless City is an interesting musical view of a dark city, full of industry. The opening bass and percussion will have you thinking of the countless buildings and people bustling through this modern city.

12. Cities uses vocals to describe the city more accurately, aided via acoustic and electric guitar, sitar and 60s sounding rhythms. This one really brings home that early Moody Blues/Justin Hayward sound from Lindahl's vocals, with the support of strings.

13. Cloudburst brings back memories of Genesis', Unquiet Slumbers for the Sleepers, with the opening to Blue Jay Way mixed in. Helena Selander's beautiful vocals may just capture you and send you off to slumbers.

Added: December 22nd 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: In the
Hits: 3565
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

In the Labyrinth: One Trail to Heaven
Posted by Roman Guzman on 2012-02-07 12:58:19
My Score:

Listened to One Trail To Heaven for the first time. Your insight was spot on. I'll be enjoying this disc for many, many years I'm sure.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by