Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Abnormal Thought Patterns: Abnormal Thought Patterns

The guys from the Zero Hour camp continue to remain busy here in 2011, with the Cynthesis project released earlier in the year and now the instrumental trio called Abnormal Thought Patterns. At the center of all this activity are the brothers Tipton, Jasun & Troy, joined here by their other comrade in Zero Hour, drummer Mike Guy. The music here on this self-titled EP is very Zero Hour-ish, sans vocals, roughly 20 minutes of super charged progressive metal instrumentals featuring that trademark, sweeping yet technical style that these players are known for. The prowess of Jasun on guitar has been well documented over the years, and he does not fail to impress here with his jagged riffs, intricate textures, and blazing leads, but it's his brother Troy who really wows throughout this brief EP. Troy's slippery lead bass fills are all over the place, sliding in and out of the mix on the complex opener "The Machine Within", and dancing madly around Jasun's intricate riffs & Mike's wild drum patterns on the 4 part "Velocity and Acceleration Movement", He even gets to strut his stuff all by his lonesome on the brief bass solo "Ulnar Nerve Damage", titled no doubt to reflect the recent surgery he had on his arm, which, by the way, he sounds fully recovered from.

Apparently this fearsome trio is now being augmented by guitarist Richard Sharman, a student of Jasun's, and looking to take their music to a live venue near you. While the world waits for another Zero Hour album, Abnormal Thought Patterns fills in the gap quite nicely. Highly impressive stuff here as always from these guys, too bad there isn't more of it.

Track Listing
1. The Machine Within 2:38
2. Velocity and Acceleration Movement 1 3:50
3. Velocity and Acceleration Movement 2 4:25
4. Velocity and Acceleration Movement 3 1:43
5. Velocity and Acceleration Movement 4 2:12
6. Ulnar Nerve Damage 0:50
7. Electric Sun 5:10

Added: December 18th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: B and Facebook Page
Hits: 2083
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by