Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Corroncho: Corroncho

Corroncho is the new album from Roxy Music guitarist Phil Manzanera and Colombian artist/sculpture Lucho Brieva. The album was recorded between 2003 and 2008 and explores the Columbian roots of both performers (Manzanera's mother was Columbian). The project began when Chrissie Hynde (Brieva's wife) wrote the song "Complicated", appearing as "Complicada" on the CD.

"Corroncho" is a derogatory name given by the people of Bogota and refers to those living on the Caribbean coast. The album follows the escapades of two Latin characters and is entirely sung in Spanish.

First and foremost this is nothing like the music of Roxy Music. The album takes on salsa, Latin folk/pop, reggae, country and western and some icy chill-out flavourings. It is quite a collage of styles and for the most part works. My only concern is with the Spanish lyrics as they did make the language barrier difficult to overcome. The good news is the music is quite good as are the vocals of Manzanera and Brieva. Other musicians include Aldo López Gavilán (piano), Ricardo Fernandez (bass) and Jamie Johnson (bass, programming) as well as guests Robert Wyatt (trumpet), Roxy Music's Paul Thompson (drums) and the backing vocals of Chrissy Hynde and Annie Lennox.

From the tenderly poignant Latin infused ballads; the folky "Angeles Y Lobos" and the country influenced "Canción Para La Que Sea" to the salsa flavoured grooves of "Lowrider" there is much to dig here.

My personal favourites include the Dylan penned "Tu Juventud" ("Forever Young") where sweet acoustic guitar and organ offer a foundation for Lennox's angelic backing vocals and the atmospheric "Diario" featuring a chill-out groove of piano and percussion. This is the closest Manzanera comes to a rock setting dishing out some stabbing electric riffs.

Depending on your tastes it is hard to say whether Corroncho will spark a fire. However, fans of Latin music will definitely want to check this out. Just don't expect the sequel to Avalon.

Track Listing:
1. Lowrider
2. Complicada
3. Rosa
4. Para Ti Nengón
5. Suavecito
6. Angeles Y Lobos
7. Esta Vida Prestada
8. Canción Para La Que Sea
9. Noche De Putas
10. Tu Juventud
11. Coyote
12. Diario

Added: December 14th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1917
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by