Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

JRS: Loss for Words

Loss for Words is guitarist and multi-instumentalist Jeffrey Ryan Smoots' first all-instrumental, guitar oriented release. Comprised of 12 melodic tunes littered with catchy melodies and searing guitar work, Smoots rises head and shoulders above most of the other guitar players attempting similar styles. Not only can this player shred with the best of them, but Smoots is adept at writing memorable songs that allow him to showcase his awesome chops within a tight and melodic framework without coming across as overindulgent.

A song like "Builder" for instance, really grooves and sticks in your head, with soaring lead lines and chunky rhythms. "Double Star" contains plenty of intricate time signatures, plus a highly emotional and yearning guitar solo that brings to mind early Joe Satriani. 80's metal riffs meets sweeping arpeggios on the aggressive "Skyward", while "Stadium Dreams" has a very symphonic and majestic tone to it, much like some of Steve Morse's recent material. Smoots throws in some technical progressive metal on the complex "Unearthly Ambition", a song that has some impressive shuffling guitar riffs and wicked lead lines. For tons of "groove and chunk" check out the funky "Dog Robot", complete with monstrous, bluesy rhythms and thick wah-wah solos.

Does it sound like Mr. Smoots is somewhat of a well rounded player? You bet! Loss for Words is a very enjoyable listen that hits you with many styles and never once becomes an overwhelming shred fest, although there is plenty of hot guitar playing throughout. Within the context of three to five minute songs, Jeffrey Ryan Smoots is able to entice the listener with catchy hooks, impressive and meaningful solos, and lots of crunchy guitar riffs. Check this out.

Track Listing
1) Unearthly Ambition (4:37)
2) Dog Robot (3:53)
3) King Lerxst (3:57)
4) Mr. Negativity (3:39)
5) Ambergris (4:19)
6) Builder (4:46)
7) Cornfed (4:05)
8) Double Star (5:29)
9) Skyward (3:59)
10) Stadium Dreams (4:09)
11) The Anachronist (4:59)
12) Zeta Principle (5:39)

Added: February 20th 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Jeffrey Ryan Smoots Website
Hits: 2415
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by