Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hypocrisy: Hell Over Sofia-20 Years of Chaos and Confusion (DVD/CD)

Recorded in early 2010 in Sofia, Bulgaria, Hell Over Sofia-20 Years of Chaos and Confusion is a DVD & 2CD set celebrating 20 years of Swedish melodic death metal from veteran act Hypocrisy. The crowd is rabid, the band on fire, and the setlist packed with Hypocrisy favorites old and new, perfectly filmed and with super crushing audio quality.

Peter Tagtgren, Horgh, Mikael Hedlund, and Tomas Elofsson run the gamut here of tracks from the old days as well as more recent releases, so songs like "Adjusting the Sun", "Pleasure Osculum - Penetralia", and "Roswell 47" mix in with newer juggernauts like "Valley of the Damned", "Eraser", and "Let the Knife Do the Talking". The results are monolithic & crushing, as the band deliver precise, often times technical, Swedish death metal with a melodic flair. Always one of the more dependable acts on the extreme metal scene, it's amazing when you realize just how many solid albums these guys have released over the years, and this stellar set list is packed with goodies from throughout their catalog. "Hang Him High", "Fractured Millenium", "Warpath", "Fire In the Sky", and "The Final Chapter" are all here, played with the fury and intensity that only Tagtgren & Co. can deliver. The twin guitars of Tagtgren and Elofsson are razor sharp and pummeling, and the legendary Horgh as always is dazzling on the drum kit.

The 3 disc set comes housed in a nice digipack, complete with great arwork, photos, and a booklet. Whether you want to sit and watch the DVD on your home theater system, or take the 2 CDs out on the road with you, the end result is live Hypocrisy of the highest quality. 20 years and still going strong!

Track Listing
DVD "Hell Over Sofia" (94 minutes) (live at Bluebox, Sofia, Bulgaria February 27, 2010)
01. Valley Of The Damned
02. Hang Him High
03. Fractured Millenium
04. Adjusting The Sun
05. Eraser
06. Pleasure Osculum - Penetralia (medley)
07. Apocalypse - 4th Dimension (medley)
08. Killing Art
09. A Coming Race
10. Let The Knife Do The Talking
11. Weed Out The Weak
12. Fire In The Sky
13. The Final Chapter
14. Warpath
15. Roswell 47
"20 Years Of Chaos And Confusion" (documentary) (91 minutes)

CD: Hell Over Sofia
01. Valley Of The Damned
02. Hang Him High
03. Fractured Millenium
04. Adjusting The Sun
05. Eraser
06. Pleaser Of Molestation
07. Osculum Obcenum
08. Penetralia
09. Apocalypse
10. Fourth Dimension
11. Killing Art

CD 2: "Hell Over Sofia"
01. A Coming Race
02. Let The Knife Do The Talking
03. Weed Out The Weak
04. Fire In The Sky
05. The Final Chapter
06. Warpath
07. Roswell 47

Added: December 4th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 3285
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by