Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pettybone: From Desperate Times Come Radical Minds

Opening the album with their manifesto, Pettybone "the voice of the voiceless" have one thing on their collective minds: revolution. The "fucked up system" that marginalises anyone whose circumstances don't comply with the ideological ignorance of the elitist is there to be shot down in 10 volatile and uncompromising tracks. Subversive from front to back, this album is a call to arms to cut the shit and make the world work for all of us, not just those with wealth, status, power, and burdened by an abnormally high quota of indifference to anyone who doesn't piss in the same gene pool. Their attack is universal. The male gaze and exploitative, pornographic imagery in advertising is shot down in 'Le Regard', closely followed by 'C.O.W. (Conspiracy of Women)', an assertion of power in unity between women. (Incidentally, if you think feminism has had its day or that feminism is a bunch of frigid lesbians bitching about not being attractive as the media would have you believe in both cases you need to not only address your confidence in stereotypes but go do some research and find out for yourself what it actually is.) The moulding of the individual into an "acceptable" shape takes a beating in 'Breaking Away', and the destitute, the marginalised, the great ignored are reminded that they have something important to say, to fight for. What better way to finish off the manifesto then than with the aptly titled 'To Hell With This Culture', a culture that's slowly but surely destroying empathy and action for capitalist gain.

As much as every word matters, the musicianship here is astounding. Lianna's bass and Ivona's guitar are angry and melodic, Zel's hots the drums harder than any metal drummer could, and Amy's vocals, whether spoken or spat, are laced with venom. Together, the four of them pack political punch into every raging beat. In these desperate times, we need more of these radical minds so when Pettybone are in town, go check 'em out. Having seen them live, they are as powerfully provocative on stage as they are on record.

Track Listing:

  1. Pettybone
  2. Le Regard
  3. C.O.W. (Conspiracy Of Women)
  4. Justice Tonight
  5. Oh! I Love You, Say It With Cobblestones
  6. Breaking Away
  7. Northern Line
  8. From Desperate Times Come Radical Minds
  9. To Hell With This Culture
  10. Blues, I Got Nothing To Lose

Added: November 30th 2011
Reviewer: Jason Guest
Related Link: Pettybone's blog
Hits: 2111
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by