Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Martin Moretto Quintet: Martin Moretto Quintet

Argentine born Martin Moretto, now based in New York, is a very good jazz guitarist. His quintet has recently released their self-titled debut album and a good one it is. Besides Moretto (guitar) the rest of the band are Bill McHenry (tenor sax), Phil Markowitz (piano), Santi Debriano (bass) and Vanderlei Pereira (drums).

This is a very nice jazz album, loaded with great melodies and top notch playing all around. Moretto has surrounded himself with fantastic musicians and together have produced some of the best jazz I have heard in 2011.

First and foremost is the guitar playing of Moretto. The songs are built around his melodic clean runs and stylish acoustic nuance. His sense of melody is superb and his leads fit perfectly within each song. Piano and sax are also used extensively sometimes playing off one another and at other times conjuring different melodies. The music never sounds jarring or forced and while the melodies are quite provocative there is still complexity here, often subtle, percolating just beneath the surface. The best part is the musicians show their chops often and the songs are long enough to fully realize their potential.

All the songs are very good but a few did stand out. The ten minute "Imágenes" demonstrates jazz at its most delicate as the players play with the utmost finesse. Solo guitar and piano are definite highlights. In the Latin infused "Iguazú" Moretto's South American roots become evident especially in his guitar playing and in the adventurous "Penumbras" McHenry's tenor sax is at the forefront going from fast runs to long drawn out notes. The gentle "Otoño Y Quebracho" features rich Latin flavourings and the outstanding bow work of bassist Debriano while the upbeat "Golden Eyes" features solo piano, guitar and bass.

If you are in the mood for quality jazz look no further than the Martin Moretto Quintet. Ensemble playing at its finest.

Track Listing:
1. Uritorco (5:58)
2. Imágenes (10:15)
3. Iguazú (8:23)
4. Penumbras (5:46)
5. Otoño Y Quebracho (8:33)
6. Golden Eyes (6:21)
7. El Rey Del Bosque (8:41)
8. Nocturno (6:09)

Added: November 24th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2151
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by